A good mix for Barisan in Selangor

SHAH ALAM: With its avowed aim of retaking Selangor, the state’s Barisan Nasional has unveiled a diverse line-up of candidates for GE14.

Besides professionals, businessmen and academics, Barisan’s candidates also include two armed forces veterans.

The duo, Mejar (Rtd) Chong Ah Watt and Abdul Rahim Mohd Amin, will be contesting for the Subang Jaya and Sungai Ramal state seats respectively.

Also in the list is Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai’s political secretary Kang Meng Fuat, who will contest the Selayang parliamentary seat.

The candidates’ names were announced by Selangor Barisan chief Tan Sri Noh Omar’s political secretary Datuk Faizal Abdullah, who is also the Kapar Umno division chairman.

For the 22 parliamentary seats, only five incumbents – Datuk Mohd Fasiah Mohd Fakeh (Sabak Bernam), Budiman Zohdi (Sungai Besar), Datuk P. Kamalanathan (Hulu Selangor), Noh (Tanjong Karang) and Datuk Seri Dr Irmohizam Ibrahim (Kuala Selangor) – were retained.

The event was not without its glitches with the several small blackouts and sound system malfunctioning several times.

Noh quipped that the blackouts were part of the GE14 challenges.

“Selangor has also been in darkness since GE12 and we want to bring light back to Selangor,” he said.

Later at a press conference attended by Liow, Noh said the candidates represented many categories.

“We have eight women and nine youths,” said Noh

“Our youngest candidate is 28 and our oldest is 66.”

He said there were 13 professionals, 34 businessmen and six civil servants in the line-up.

Seven people dropped in the last general election were also brought back.

“These people, even though they were dropped, did not sulk but continued working hard for Barisan,” said Noh.

Among those who returned after sitting out one term are former Seri Serdang assemblyman Datuk Satim Diman, 62, former Kuala Kubu Baru assemblyman Datuk Wong Koon Mun, 56, former Tanjong Sepat assemblyman Datuk Dr Karim Mansor, 60, and former Dengkil assemblyman Datuk Marsum Paing.

Satim, Wong and Dr Karim will contest for the same seats while Marsum will fight for the Sepang parliamentary seat.

Noh also said that of the 12 Barisan incumbents in the Selangor state assembly, 10 have been retained.

Jeram assemblyman Datuk Amiruddin Setro has been dropped while Sungai Air Tawar assemblyman Datuk Kamarol Zaki Abdul Malik died in office.

Liow said MCA had decided on 28-year-old architect Lee Yee Yuan for Sekinchan because he was a professional and a local boy.

“Having him contest is also brin­ging him back to Sekinchan as young people have left the place,” said Liow.

He added that Lee’s chances of toppling DAP incumbent Ng Suee Lim are good as people like the MCA candidate better.

Liow said the people of Sekinchan now realise that Ng is just full of rhetoric.

Liow, the Selangor MCA chief, added that there is also a 30% increase in the number of members in the party.

“We have to really engage them,” he said.

There were nine Umno, eight MCA, four MIC and one Gerakan candidates for the parliamentary seats and 35 Umno, 14 MCA, three MIC and four Gerakan candidates for the state assembly seats.


Click on image for larger view