1,546 honoured on King’s birthday

Honoured: (Top row, from left): Among recipients of the PSM and title of Tan Sri are Shahrizat, Ranjit Singh, Dr R. Palan and Khoo. (Bottom row, from left): Among recipients of the PJN and title of Datuk are Cha, A. Sakthivel and Bill Tan.

PUTRAJAYA: Attorney-General Tan Sri Mohamed Apandi Ali was the sole recipient of Darjah Panglima Mangku Negara (PMN), which carries the title Tan Sri, in conjunction with the official birthday of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah.

Another 52 people were bestowed the Darjah Kebesaran Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM), which also carries the title Tan Sri.

They were among a list of 1,546 recipients of 2016 Federal Orders, Decorations and Medals in conjunction with the King’s birthday.

Among the recipients of PSM title were Federal Court Judges Datuk Ramly Ali, Datuk Azahar Mohamed and Datuk Zaharah Ibrahim, senior deputy secretary-general in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Othman Mahmood and Foreign Ministry secretary-general Datuk Othman Hashim.

Other recipients of the same title were Science, Technology and Innovation Ministry secretary-general Datuk Seri Dr Noorul Ainur Mohd Nur, Education director-general Datuk Seri Dr Khair Mohamad Yusof, Public Service Commission chairman Datuk Seri Arpah Abdul Razak and Malaysian Islamic Development Department director-general Datuk Othman Mustafa;

National Culture and Arts Department director-general Datuk Norliza Rofli, Securities Commission Malaysia executive chairman Datuk Seri Ranjit Singh Ajith Singh, Malaysian Council of Former Elected Representatives information chief Datuk Abdul Rahman Sulaiman, Latimer Corporation Sdn Bhd managing director Datuk Dennis Chandratheepam Latimer, Axiata Group Berhad president and group executive director Datuk Seri Jamaludin Ibrahim and Cyberjaya University College of Medical Sciences Pro Chancellor Datuk Dr R. Palaniappan, who is also the owner of listed company SMR Technologies Berhad.

The others who received the PSM were Widad Business Group’s group executive chairman Datuk Seri Muhammad Ikmal Opat Abdullah, Malaysia Hokkien Associations Federation president and managing director of Brem Holding Berhad Datuk Khoo Chai Kaa, Chief of Navy Admiral Datuk Seri Ahmad Kamarulzaman Ahmad Bada­ruddin, Deputy Inspector-General of Police Datuk Seri Noor Rashid Ibrahim and former Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Senator Datuk Seri Abdul Wahid Omar.

Apart from that, the PSM title was also bestowed on Wanita Umno chief/Women's Economic Advisor Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil, Selangor state Federal Action Council adviser Datuk Seri Noh Omar, Parti Bersatu India Malaysia president Datuk Seri S. Nalla­karuppan, Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu Wanita chief Datuk Seri Empiang anak Antak, MyPPP financial advisor Datuk M.N. Puvanen­dran, Malaysian Manufacturers Federation president Datuk Seri Saw Choo Boon and former Deputy Plantation Industries and Commo­dities Minister Datuk Noriah Kasnon (posthumously), who died in a helicopter crash in Sebuyau, Sarawak on May 5.

A total of 79 people were awarded the Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN) which carries the title ‘Datuk’, and they include the late Kuala Kangsar Member of Parliament Datuk Wan Mohammad Khairil Anuar Wan Ahmad (posthumously) and Planta­tion Industries and Commodities Ministry secretary-general Datuk Dr Sundaran Annamalai (posthumously), who were both killed in the helicopter accident in Sarawak on May 5; and Malaysia Furniture Council vice-president Datuk Cha Hoo Peng, who is also Marcoco Furniture Industries executive director.

The same award was also given to former deputy public prosecutor in the Attorney-General’s Chambers, the late Datuk Anthony Kevin Morais (posthumous) who was murdered in September 2015.

The PJN title was also awarded to three Appeals Court Judges, namely Datuk Kamardin Hashim, Harminder Singh Dhaliwal and Ong Lam Kiat, as well as Legal Advisor in the Prime Minister’s Department Datin Almalena Sharmila Johan Thambu, Director of Communi­cations in the Finance Ministry Mohamad Ezam Mohd Nor, eye specialist and renowned speaker Prof Dr Che Muhaya Mohamad, deputy president of the Association of Malaysian Armed Forces veterans (ATM) Kapten Sharuddin Omar, former president of Dong Zong Quek Chee Hiang @ Quek Suan Hiang, M&A Securities Sdn Bhd executive director Bill Tan Choon Peow and MIC secretary-general A. Sakthivel.

National diving queen Pandelela Rinong Pamg was among the 374 recipients of the Bintang Ahli Mangku Negara (AMN).

Lans Kpl Ahmad Sobri Harun, who was killed in the recent helicopter crash in Sarawak, was posthumously awarded the Pingat Pangkuan Negara (PPN). A total of 596 individuals received the same award (PPN). — Bernama

King s birthday , honours list