CJ and Ghaz conferred Tun

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 04 Jun 2005

Ahmad Fairuz: Receives the SSM award

KUALA LUMPUR: Chief Justice of the Federal Court Tan Sri Ahmad Fairuz Sheikh Abdul Halim and former minister Tan Sri Ghazali Shafie were conferred “Tun” by the King in conjunction with his birthday today. 

Ahmad Fairuz, who was appointed Chief Justice on March 2003, and Ghazali, now aged 83 and who served as minister for 14 years before retiring in 1984, received the Seri Setia Mahkota (SSM). 

A total of 1,844 people received various federal awards, titles and medals from the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Syed Putra Jamalullail. Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail, who in 2003 was bestowed the Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM) which carries the “Tan Sri” title, received the Panglima Mangku Negara (PMN) bearing the same title. 

Also honoured with the PMN is the new Armed Forces Chief Admiral Datuk Seri Mohd Anwar Mohd Nor. 

Ghazali: Receives the SSM award

Among the 25 recipients of the PSM title are Court of Appeal President Datuk Abdul Malek Ahmad, Chief Justice of Malaya Datuk Siti Norma Yaakob, two former Cabinet ministers Datuk Amar Leo Moggie and Datuk Seri Law Hieng Ding. 

Others are Malaysia’s Ambassador to the United States Datuk Ghazzali Sheikh Abdul Khalid, veteran journalist Datuk Mazlan Nordin, Umno permanent chairman Datuk Seri Onn Ismail and four secretaries-general Datuk Seri Abi Musa Asa’ari Mohamed Noor (Agriculture and Agro-based Ministry), Datuk Seri Subhan Jasmon (Defence), Datuk Seri Aseh Che Mat (Home Ministry) and Datuk Ambrin Buang (Education). 

Also on the list are Securities Commission chairman Datuk Md Nor Md Yusof, former Inspector-General of Police Datuk Seri Mohd Sedek Mohd Ali, Maxis Communication Bhd chairman Datuk Megat Zaharuddin Megat Mohd Nor, Edaran Otomobil Nasional Bhd managing director Datuk Adzmi Abdul Wahab. 

Southern Bank Bhd Chief executive director Datuk Tan Teong Hean, Amanah Chase Merchant Bank chief executive Datuk Mohd Ibrahim Mohd Zain and Maltecorp Sdn Bhd chairman and chief executive Datuk Dr James Alfred David and Kurnia Asia Bhd chairman Datuk Kua Sian Kooi, also received the same title. 

Others include Umno Disciplinary Board deputy chairman Datuk Mohd Zuki Kamaluddin, Nanyang Press Holdings chairman Datuk Wong See Wah and BSA founder Datuk Dr Cam Soh Thiam Hong. 

Forty-four people received the Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN), which carries the title “Datuk”, 18 the Johan Mangku Negara (JMN), 64 the Johan Setia Mahkota (JSM), three the Johan Setia Diraja (JSD), 296 the Kesatria Mangku Negara (KMN), three the Kesatria Setia Diraja (KSD), 638 the Ahli Mangku Negara (AMN), 735 the Pingat Pangkuan Negara (PPN) and 13 the Bentara Setia Diraja (BSD). 

Also receiving Datukship are director-general of the Economic Planning Unit in the Prime Minister’s Department Raja Datuk Zaharaton Raja Zainal Abidin, Transport Ministry secretary-general Datuk Zaharah Shaari and Chemistry Department director-general Kee Sue Sing.  

Others receiving the PJN award which carries the title “Datuk”, are Bolton Bhd director Zakaria Ahmad, KFC Holdings Bhd Group managing director Datuk Johari Abdul Ghani, Catholic Archbishop of Kuala Lumpur Murphy Nicholas Xavier Pakiam, Malaysia Automobile Traders Association president Aishah Shaikh Ahmad, former Dentists Association of Malaysia president Dr Teo Choo Kum, Malaysian Medical Association resident Dr Teoh Siang Chin and Malaysian Ceylonese Congress president Datuk Mahendran Thuraiappah.  

Other PJN recipients are People’s Progressive Party secretary-general Mohan Kandasamy, Dungun Umno chief Datuk Rosli Mat Hassan, Wanita MCA secretary-general Chang Yok Ying, MCA central committee member Ho Lim Teck and Tun Ismail Utara MIC branch committee member Poraviappan Arunasalam Pillay. – Bernama  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

PM: Malaysia targets RM1bil revenue from cultural sector by 2025
Covid-19: Sabah records 565 cases, new cluster possibly linked to Ranau birthday party, says Masidi
PAS accepts Malaysian Family concept in govt’s administration
Nearly 100% participation in MyCensus 2020 despite pandemic
Petaling District records highest population in 2020, says DOSM
Police detain two men over online job scam after Cheras condo raid
New law passed with heftier punishments to protect endangered wildlife
Over 3,000 smoking violation notices issued from Jan-Oct, says Khairy
Opposition MP ordered out of Dewan over heated row on ‘talking to elephants in Tamil’
Dr Wee and Annuar did not contradict each other, both did not mislead House over cabotage policy, says Speaker

Others Also Read