Malaysian actress Michelle Yeoh a judge for the 2023 Epigram Books Fiction Prize

  • Books
  • Wednesday, 08 Jun 2022

Yeoh is part of the judging panel for the 2023 Epigram Books Fiction Prize, its Singapore-based organisers announced recently. Photo: AP

Acclaimed Malaysian actress Michelle Yeoh will be one of the judges of the 2023 Epigram Books Fiction Prize, its Singapore-based organisers announced on June 7.

She joins Singapore novelists Meira Chand and Carissa Foo, as well as Peter Schoppert, who is the director of NUS Press, on the panel, which is chaired by Epigram Books' founder Edmund Wee.

The annual prize by Singaporean publisher Epigram Books, now in its eighth edition, is awarded for unpublished English-language novels. The winner will receive S$25,000 (RM80,000) and a publishing agreement, while the three shortlisted entries will each get S$5,000 (RM16,000) and a publishing contract.

It was initially for Singaporeans and permanent residents, but since 2019 it has also been open to writers in South-East Asia.

Wee, 69, said in a statement: "We are very honoured and humbled that Meira, Carissa, Peter and Michelle have accepted the invitation to be judges for the 2023 Fiction Prize and I believe that each of us brings a different perspective to the panel."

Yeoh, 59, has starred in Hollywood films such as Crazy Rich Asians (2018), Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings (2021) and Everything Everywhere All At Once (2022).

On the veteran action star's inclusion on the panel, Wee said: "Since we opened the prize up to South-East Asians, we felt there ought to be a non-Singaporean judge on board.

"And the judging panel has always included someone who, while not from publishing, is somewhat related to it - like a theatre or film person. Michelle fits the category," he said, adding that he approached her through a relative of hers in Singapore.

"It was a long shot but I'm glad she agreed to do it."

Submissions for the prize will close on Aug 1, and the winner will be announced in January next year. The winning and shortlisted novels will be published in the second half of next year.

Since its inception in 2015, the award has had eight winners and published more than 30 novels. The winner for 2022 was Malaysian writer Karina Robles Bahrin, who came tops for her manuscript The Accidental Malay.

In 2020, Malaysian author Joshua Kam won the top prize for his novel How The Man In Green Saved Pahang, And Possibly The World.

To date, Kam and Karina are the Malaysian writers to win the regional Epigram Books Fiction Prize. - The Straits Times/Asia News Network

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Culture

Get lifted by the stories of Sabah's humble baskets at this KL exhibition
A.I. uncovers unknown play by Spanish great in library archive
Malaysian author’s debut novel longlisted for Dublin Literary Award 2023
Japanese author Haruki Murakami to publish first new novel in six years
DC Comics fandom celebrates return of 'Swamp Thing' to big screen
Ai Weiwei launches new exhibit, tries to understand studio demolitions in China
Art therapy: expressing distressing emotions when words won't come
World champion says Rubik's Cube and violin go hand in hand
Takashi Murakami's 'kawaii' art reflects human yearning for religion
Japanese ballet company shines light on plastic waste

Others Also Read