Cabinet reshuffle: Who's in, who's out

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 28 Jul 2015

Malaysia's Prime Minister Najib Razak (right) arrives with his newly-appointed Deputy Prime Minister Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (left) for a press conference at the Prime Minister's office in Putrajaya on July 28, 2015, following a cabinet reshuffle. - AFP

The following is the list of new ministerial appointments:

New ministers

1. Deputy Prime Minister - Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi

2. Science, Technology and Innovation Minister - Datuk Wilfred Madius Tangau

3. Domestic Trade Cooperatives and Consumerism Minister - Datuk Hamzah Zainuddin

4. Natural Resources and Environmental Minister - Datuk Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar

5. Education Minister - Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid

6. Minister in the Prime Minister's Department - Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said

7. International Trade and Industry Minister II - Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan

8. Communication and Multimedia Minister -  Datuk Seri Mohd Salleh Keruak

Ministers with new portfolios

1. Agriculture and Agro-based Industry Minister -  Datuk Seri Ahmad Shabery Cheek (Former Communications and Multimedia Minister)

2. Higher Education Minister - Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh (Former Education Minister II)

3. The Rural and Regional Development Ministry - Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob (Former Agriculture and Agro-based Industry Minister)

New Deputy Ministers and new portfolios

1. Deputy Foreign Affairs Minister -  Datuk Seri Reezal Merican Naina Merican

2. Deputy Home Minister - Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed

3. Deputy Home Minister - Tuan Masir Anak Kujat

4. Deputy Tourism Minister - Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin

5. Deputy International Trade and Industry Minister (Miti) - Datuk Ahmad Maslan (Former Deputy Finance Minister)

6. Deputy Higher Education Minister - Datuk Mary Yap (Former Deputy Education Minister)

7. Deputy Education Minister - Chong Sin Woon

8. Deputy Natural Resources and Environmental Minister - Datuk Hamim Samuri

9. Deputy Defence Minister - Mohd Johari Baharum

10. Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister's Department in charge of religious affairs - Datuk Dr Asyraf Wajdi Dusuki

11. Deputy Finance Minister - Datuk Johari Abdul Ghani

Ministers dropped

1. Deputy Prime Minister & Education Minister - Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin

2. Natural Resources and Environment Minister - Datuk Seri Palanivel Govindasamy

3. Science, Technology and Innovation Minister - Datuk Dr Ewon Ebin

4. Domestic Trade Cooperatives and Consumerism Minister - Datuk Seri Hasan Malek

5. Rural and Regional Development - Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 0
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Cabinet , reshuffle , ministers , new , ministries


Next In Nation

Charles Santiago reappointed as SPAN chairman
Fix old sports facilities before building new ones, says Adam Adli
Pahang ready to table anti-hopping law if opposition supports it, says Wan Rosdy
Sabah govt backs two events by Chinese group
Two civil servants among seven suspects nabbed for alleged drug trafficking in Tawau
TAR Institute launches new electrical wiring specialisation programme
No increase in foreign workers despite change in application process, claim business groups
Nine Ramadan hawkers get RM100 compound notice each for flouting health rules in Sandakan
Amnesty International calls for moratorium on death penalty to be continued
Father drowns after rescuing his child from a sinking car in Putatan

Others Also Read