WhatsApp is testing a logout feature, which would allow users to unlink a device from their account without having to delete all their data from the device.
Tech site WABetaInfo reported that the feature would replace the Delete account option, which could potentially allow users to switch accounts on a single device.
“At the moment the logout option replaces Delete account on linked devices but their plans might change, moving/copying the option in the previous Linked devices section. Only time will tell,” it said.
It shared a nine-second video of what the new feature would look like, tested on a WhatsApp Business account.
WABetaInfo added that tests showed the feature works without issue on both personal and business versions, and would be available for both iOS and Android users.
This feature is speculated to work alongside the planned multidevice feature, which would enable users to connect up to four different devices to their main WhatsApp account when launched. The multidevice feature is currently still in beta testing mode.
Currently, users can only have one account registered to one device. Exiting the account using the Delete account feature also removes all data, like chats and photos, from the phone.