Saifuddin Abdullah named new Communications and Multimedia Minister

Former Foreign Affairs Minister Saifuddin is now the Communications and Multimedia Minister. — MOHD SAHAR MISNI/The Star

Datuk Seri Saifuddin Abdullah has been named the new Communications and Multimedia minister and Khairy Jamaluddin as the Science, Technology and Innovation Minister in the new cabinet line-up.

Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, who made the announcement today, also appointed Datuk Zahidi Zainul Abidin as Deputy Communications and Multimedia Minister, and Ahmad Amzad Hashim as Deputy Science, Technology and Innovation Minister.

The Communications and Multimedia ministry’s recent key projects include the National Fiberisation and Connectivity Plan (NFCP) to improve Internet connectivity, coverage and affordability; and 5G Demonstration Project (5GDP) to showcase the next-generation cellular technology and speed up its rollout.

Saifuddin replaces Gobind Singh Deo who was removed from the cabinet following the resignation of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad as Prime Minister.

The new Science, Technology and Innovation ministry is expected to replace the role of the Energy, Science, Technology, Environment and Climate Change ministry previously led by Yeo Bee Yin.

Saifuddin and Khairy both have held ministerial posts before – Saifuddin served as Foreign Affairs Minister under the Pakatan Harapan government, and Khairy as the Youth and Sports Minister under the Barisan National government.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Tech News

Amazon-backed Rivian in talks with ministers over UK factory -Sky News
Twitter is offering a bounty to help root out its algorithmic bias
World's first commercial re-programmable satellite blasts into space
Google wants to ban 'Sugar Daddy' apps.
'Papetura' is puzzle game made using footage of a real paper world
Four things that will save you if your phone gets stolen on holidays
Amazon deleted 200 million fake reviews - can we believe them now?
Twitter launches competition to find biases in its image-cropping algorithm
Musk says "Epic is right," takes sides in battle with Apple
U.S. watchdog rejects Blue Origin protest over NASA lunar contract

Stories You'll Enjoy