Steam Awards to make streaming debut


The Steam Awards 2018 are to stream via event portal Steam.TV. — AFP Relaxnews

Steam's event-based streaming portal Steam.TV is to host The Steam Awards for the first time on Feb 8.

The broadcast, via Steam.TV/SteamAwards, is to start at 10am PT (1pm Eastern, 6pm UTC and Britain, 7pm Central Europe, 8pm South Africa, 11.30pm India Standard Time, and then 2am Feb 9 in Singapore, Malaysia, the Philippines and Beijing, China, 3am Japan and South Korea, and 5am Sydney, Australia.)

The Steam Awards are based on user votes in pre-determined categories, conducted over the online store's late December 2018 to early January 2019 Winter Sale, with nominations gathered during an earlier Autumn Sale in November.

Winners in eight categories are to be announced, with Steam operator Valve Corporation also indicating that there will be "special messages from the winners".

It is not yet known whether those segments will be live or, as with Nintendo's Nintendo Directs, pre-recorded.

Category awards are available for Game of the Year and VR Game of the Year, as well as less time-specific accolades such as Labor of Love, Best Developer, Best Environment, Better with Friends, Best Alternate History, and Most Fun with a Machine.

Users were able to choose from across the Steam store's catalogue, irrespective of release date.

Up for Game of the Year, therefore, are 2018 releases Monster Hunter: World, Kingdom Come: Deliverance, Hitman 2 and Assassin's Creed Odyssey, alongside 2017's PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds.

PUBG, Assassin's Creed Odyssey and Monster Hunter: World were among the store's top 12 bestsellers of 2018, as revealed towards the end of December.

Fortnite, Call Of Duty: Black Ops 4, Overwatch, Destiny 2: Forsaken, FIFA 19 and Battlefield V are absent from the Steam platform, instead being hosted, sold and distributed on PC (and Mac, where applicable) via their publishers' own online platforms. – AFP Relaxnews
   

Across The Star Online


Air Pollutant Index

Highest API Readings

    Select State and Location to view the latest API reading

    Source: Department of Environment, Malaysia