Selangor beat Singapore to retain Sultan of Selangor’s Cup title

  • Football
  • Monday, 26 Aug 2019

Back off: Selangor’s Sean Eugene Selvaraj (left) vying for the ball with Singapore’s Mahler Jacob William during the Sultan of Selangor’s Cup at the Shah Alam Stadium on Saturday. — IZZRAFIQ ALIAS/The Star

SHAH ALAM: Selangor successfully defended their title in the Sultan of Selangor’s Cup after defeating Singapore 1-0 at the Shah Alam Stadium.

The Red Giants’ solitary goal came from Ifedayo Olusegun, who sent the ball into Singapore’s net after receiving a cross from the flank from skipper Mohd Amri Yahyah in the 20th minute.

The goal was the reward of Selangor’s dogged determination from the start as Sandro Mendoca, Khyril Muhymeen Zambri, Syahmi Safari and Olusegun kept pressuring Singapore’s defence relentlessly.

In the second half, both teams had their chances and numerous close calls in the goalmouth but Singapore had a more difficult time to navigate through Selangor’s defence comprising K. Sarkunan, Syahmi, Michal Nguyen and Nicholas Swirad.

Selangor goalkeeper Mohd Farizal Harun also proved to be instrumental as he thwarted Singapore’s numerous effort at the danger zone.

With the win on Saturday, Selangor have lifted the Cup nine times while Singapore have tasted success seven times.

Selangor picked up the trophy and RM80,000 prize money from the Sultan of Selangor Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah. Singapore took home RM10,000.

Singapore however won the curtain raiser match between veterans from both sides 2-0 through a penalty shootout after both were held 0-0 in regulation time.

The former greats such as Datuk Soh Chin Aun, V. Murugan and Fandi Ahmad, showed flashes of brilliance throughout the match to the delight of the fans.

Singapore goalkeeper Mohd Yazid Mohd Yasin was the star of the veterans clash after saving two shots from the hosts to give Singapore the victory.

Meanwhile, Selangor youth squad overcame a jittery start before pulling off a 3-1 win against Singapore in the Under-15 match.

Their scorers were Harry Danish Md Haizon, Muhd Afiq Haiqal and Aliff Nufaill Azman.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across The Star Online