Nominations begin for Pulai and Simpang Jeram by-elections

JOHOR BARU: The contest for the Pulai parliamentary and Simpang Jeram state seats starts today (Aug 26) with nominations of candidates from 9am.

The Sultan Ibrahim Diamond Jubilee Hall here will serve as the nomination centre for the Pulai parliamentary by-election, while the similarly named hall in Muar will serve as the nomination centre for the Simpang Jeram state by-election.

Candidates have till 10am to submit their nomination papers to the returning officer at the nomination centres before they can be declared as qualified to contest the by-elections.

Pakatan Harapan's candidate for Pulai is former Johor state assembly speaker, Suhaizan Kaiat, who also served as political secretary to the late Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub, the incumbent Pulai MP and Simpang Jeram assemblyman who died on July 23.

Contesting under an Amanah ticket, Suhaizan will be going up against Perikatan Nasional's Zulkifli Jaafar who is also Pulai Bersatus deputy chief.

Pakatan's defence of Simpang Jeram will be undertaken by the constituency's Amanah deputy chief, Bakri Nazri Abdul Rahman, who will take on Perikatan's Dr Mohd Mazri Yahya, an endovascular surgeon.

Kuala Lumpur Consumer Safety Association president (PKPKL) Samsudin Mohamad Fauzi has expressed his interest in becoming an MP and may contest as an independent in Pulai.

Based on the Election Commission's (EC) statistics, there are 166,653 registered voters, 165,799 ordinary voters, 927 police personnel and spouses and 26 overseas postal voters in the Pulai parliamentary constituency, while in Simpang Jeram state constituency, there are 40,379 registered voters, 40,373 ordinary voters and six overseas postal voters.

In the 15th General Election, Salahuddin won Pulai with a majority of 33,174 votes, polling 64,900 votes ahead of Barisan Nasional candidate, Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed (31,726 votes) and Perikatan candidate Loh Kah Yong (20,677).

He also defended his Simpang Jeram seat in the Johor state election in March last year by polling 8,749 votes against Perikatan's Zarul Salleh (6,350 votes), Barisan's Lokman Md Don (6,062 votes) and Pejuang's Mahaizal Mahmor (208 votes).

Early voting will be held on Sept 5, while polling day has been set on Sept 9. Candidates will have a period of 14 days to campaign. – Bernama

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Next In Nation

Bersatu Pahang supports Muhyiddin’s recommendation for uncontest of top posts
CAP reminds ministry to keep promise of stricter vape and tobacco laws implementation
Traffic cop hit by drunk driver in JB, fractures hip
Cops bust drug lab, seize more than RM170,000 drugs in Penang
Chukai teenager hospitalised after eating poisoned biscuits
Zahid open to challengers for Umno top post, but party to have final say
Traffic cop injured by drunk driver in Johor
Man found drowned in hotel pool during birthday celebration, five arrested
Umno’s Dr Akmal Saleh slams Lokman Noor’s accusations against him on Sg Bakap polls
Storm uproots 17 trees in Melaka

Others Also Read