Lining up to be the next PM

Of national importance: A man using his phone to watch the live telecast of Muhyiddin announcing his resignation in Kuala Lumpur. — FAIHAN GHANI/The Star

PETALING JAYA: The race is on for politicians to forge a coalition with 111 MPs, the minimum number required to form the next government.

Yesterday, most of them were engaged in “horse-trading” to reach the magic number.

Currently, the big political blocs are DAP with 42 MPs, Umno (38), PKR (35), Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (31), PAS (18), Gabungan Parti Sarawak (18), Parti Warisan Sabah (eight) and Pejuang (four).

In a tight race for the prime minister’s post, the party with one MP or an independent MP are a precious commodity to get the desired 111 out of 220 MPs (two have passed away).

Parties with one or two MPs, such as Parti Bersatu Sabah (Kota Marudu’s Datuk Seri Dr Maximus Ongkili), Upko (Tuaran MP Datuk Seri Wilfred Madius Tangau), Sabah Star (Keningau’s Datuk Seri Dr Jeffrey Kitingan), or Independents such as Julau MP Larry Sng Wei Shien, Tebrau’s Steven Choong Shiau Yoon and Kuala Langat’s Datuk Dr Xavier Jayakumar could tip the balance.

Some of them have their foot on both sides and could jump to the winning team at the last-minute.

So far, the biggest coalition is Perikatan Nasional 2.0. It consists of parties that were members of the Perikatan government, which collapsed yesterday when Bersatu president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin quit as Prime Minister.

Perikatan 2.0, which includes Umno, Bersatu, PAS, Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) and smaller parties and Independent MPs, has about 100 MPs. Their candidate for the top post is Umno vice-president and former deputy prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

However, it is short of 11 MPs as a faction in Umno, led by its president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, wants the party to decide who should be its prime minister candidate.

The faction led by Bagan Datuk MP Ahmad Zahid has about 15 Umno MPs, including former prime minister and Pekan MP Datuk Seri Najib Razak and Wanita Umno chief and Parit Sulong MP Datuk Dr Noraini Ahmad.

On their shortlist to be prime minister are Umno’s Gua Musang MP Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah and Sembrong MP and former senior minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein.

Perikatan 2.0 is also partial towards the former senior minister so as to unlock the deadlock with the Ahmad Zahid faction.

However, Hishammuddin is reluctant to take up the post at this point in time.

GPS has gone on record that it supports Ismail Sabri as the next prime minister.

Its secretary-general and Kapit MP Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi said the coalition, which rules Sarawak, had to go with Ismail Sabri because he was the Perikatan government’s deputy prime minister.

The other big coalition is Pakatan Harapan 2.0. It has 88 MPs from DAP, PKR and Parti Amanah Negara.

Its candidate is Opposition Leader and PKR president Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

If the Port Dickson MP could garner the support of Warisan’s eight MPs, other opposition parties and Independent MPs or even former PKR MPs who ditched the party, Anwar could be in the running for prime minister.

He is also trying to convince GPS to join his coalition.

Parti Pejuang Tanah Air, led by former prime minister and Langkawi MP Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, has four MPs but has said it was not supporting any party for the top post.

Warisan president and Semporna MP Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal could end up the wildcard prime minister.

The leaders of the party from Sabah are tight-lipped on its stand as political parties race to cobble together a parliamentary majority.

They have yet to make an official stand as to whether they would back Anwar.

Some said the party might simply leave it to the King’s wisdom.

Warisan sources said that it was not necessary for the party, with eight MPs, to remain with its stand on the Opposition front.

“They are many political formulas on the table,” said a Warisan source. “The political situation is dynamic.”

Warisan, together with Selangau MP Baru Bian’s PSB, Malaysian United Democratic Alliance (Muda) pro-tem president Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman and Upko president Tangau, are a block of 12 MPs.

Major political parties in the country have been summoned to Istana Negara today.

With all the jostling, none of the big names may be prime minister in the end. A dark horse could still win the coveted post.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Anwar: Too early to tell where I will contest in GE15
Covid-19: Most of 5,097 new cases are asymptomatic, have mild symptoms, says Health DG
Simpang Renggam MP Maszlee confirms joining PKR after a year as Independent
Ensure students with disabilities have equal opportunities, rights, says Ras Adiba
Mosti conducting studies to reduce cost of agricultural production
Consumers fret over increase in prices of wet goods
AirAsia KL-Kuching tickets drop below RM200 after Sarawak authorities approve more flights
Govt still studying operating model for Cyberjaya Hospital, says Khairy
Soh focused on achieving towering feats
Johor MB hopes number of people travelling through VTL-Land will bring crowd back to pre-Covid-19 times

Others Also Read