Malaysia imposes travel ban on Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Nepal citizens

  • Nation
  • Wednesday, 05 May 2021

PUTRAJAYA: Malaysia will impose a travel ban on citizens of Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Nepal.

This comes after a temporary ban on flights from and to India was made to stop a new Covid-19 variant from entering the country.

Senior Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob who announced this, however, did not state the date when this ban will take effect.

“The travel restriction imposed on citizens of these countries involved all categories holding long-term social visit passes, business travellers and for social visits.

“Exemptions are, however, given to holders of diplomatic passports and officials as stated in the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations 1961.

“This category will be considered to enter Malaysia using the existing standard operating procedure, ” he said on Wednesday (May 5).

Malaysia had temporarily banned flights from and to India to stop a new Covid-19 variant from entering the country beginning April 28.

Ships and Indian citizens with Malaysian work permits will also be denied entry, he added.

The National Security Council (NSC) has agreed to the proposal by the Health Ministry, with exemptions given to Malaysian citizens who will undergo the mandatory 14-day quarantine upon entry.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

A dire need for political literacy
Young voters: Social media influenced us but we are ready to learn
Three sacked for smearing, campaigning against party
Winds of change in Sabah
Regaining Sarawak’s powers a key factor
‘Deal must be transparent and be made public’
Some civil servants left in limbo
Federal Territories Ministry in no-man’s land
‘Green wave’ sweeps over voters
Thai DPM Prawit and delegation visit Anwar

Others Also Read