All states except S'wak to be placed under MCO starting Friday (Jan 22)

PUTRAJAYA: The whole country, except Sarawak, is set to be placed under the movement control order as six more states will be placed under MCO from Jan 22.

The states are Kedah, Perak, Negri Sembilan, Pahang, Terengganu and Perlis.

Senior Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said the decision is made following an increase in the number of Covid-19 positive cases in the states.

“Following advice from the Health Ministry, we have decided to enforce MCO on these states until Feb 4, ” he said on Tuesday (Jan 19).

Ismail Sabri said with the announcement, all states in Malaysia will be under MCO except for Sarawak.


Article type: free
User access status:

Did you find this article insightful?


72% readers found this article insightful

Next In Nation

MACC to investigate after PKR’s Sekijang MP lodges report over poaching allegations
Structural repairs on Penang Bridge to be shortened by a week
China to boost Asean ties, supports region in fight against Covid-19
Siblings aged seven, 14, injured, parents die in car-van collision
Covid-19: Sarawak records 201 new cases, two new clusters detected
Covid-19: Eight new clusters identified, five linked to workplaces
PKR’s Sekijang MP lodges report with MACC over poaching allegations
Ismail Sabri: 442 nabbed for Covid-19 SOP violations on Saturday (March 6)
Ismail Sabri: EMCO in Kg Tringgus in Bau, Sarawak from March 8-21
Dr M gives thumbs up after receiving Covid-19 vaccine

Stories You'll Enjoy