Conditional MCO: Penang police to mount roadblocks from Nov 9

GEORGE TOWN: Police will mount roadblocks in several areas in the state following the implementation of the conditional movement control order (MCO) from Nov 9.

George Town OCPD Asst Comm Soffian Santong said in the northeast district, the roadblocks will be set up at five locations from 12.01am on Nov 9.

"The roadblocks will be mounted in the same way during the conditional MCO a few months ago," he said.

Among the locations with roadblocks are the entrance of Penang Bridge (in front of Batu Uban Sports Complex), entrance of Penang Bridge at Tun Dr Lim Chong Eu Expressway, Jalan Paya Terubong (in front of Petronas station), Jalan Batu Feringgi (in front of Rasa Sayang Hotel) and Weld Quay (in front of ferry terminal).

ACP Soffian said a total of 424 officers and personnel comprising the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM), Malaysian Civil Defence Force (APM) and Malaysian Volunteer Corps (Rela) would be involved.

It is understood that the Malaysian Armed Forces will also be involved in the one-month operation.

In North Seberang Prai, nine roadblocks will be set up along the border of Penang-Kedah to monitor the movement of vehicles coming in and out from the state.

North Seberang Prai OCPD Asst Comm Noorzainy Mohd Noor said police will enforce the roadblocks beginning 12.01 on Nov 9.

"The locations will be at Permatang Bendahari Bridge, Jambatan Merdeka, Pinang Tunggal flyover, Jalan Ekor Kucing, Kampung Selamat, Jalan Ara Kuda, Jalan Permatang Pauh, Bertam toll plaza and Sungai Nyiur toll plaza," he said on Sunday (Nov 8).

He said a total of 160 officers and personnel comprising the police, armed forces, APM and Rela would be on duty at the roadblocks.

Meanwhile, several roadblocks will also be mounted by police at several strategic locations at Central and South Seberang Prai districts.

The roadblocks will focus on preventing the inter-district and interstate travelling during the conditional MCO period.

On Saturday (Nov 7), Senior Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob announced that conditional MCO would be imposed on all states in Peninsular Malaysia except for Kelantan, Perlis and Pahang from Nov 9 until Dec 6.

He said the decision was made after the Health Ministry discovered that there has been a significant increase in Covid-19 positive cases as well as rate of infections in Kedah, Penang, Perak, Negri Sembilan, Melaka, Johor and Terengganu.

Article type: free
User access status:

Penang , conditional MCO , roadblocks , Covid-19


Next In Nation

Ipoh hospital operating as normal, says director
Covid-19: We've not reached 'Sophie's choice' yet, healthcare system still able to cope, says Health Minister
Police seek to expedite purchase of body cameras
EMCO in two localities in Sarawak lifted
Teenage girl dies after private party in Alor Setar, nine arrested
Call of duty: Melaka CID chief cuts short prayers, rushes to crime scene in Baju Raya
Firecrackers hurled at police in Sentul
Alor Gajah police say viral photo of authorities compounding homeowner RM50,000 is fake
Covid-19: Eight new clusters, five related to workplaces
Police monitoring 'Raya posts' on social media

Stories You'll Enjoy