PKR to seek RM10mil each from 20 defectors

PETALING JAYA: PKR will be sending letters of demand to 20 former party elected representatives, claiming a sum of RM10mil each for defecting.

The party said it had given instructions to its lawyers to issue letters of demand to the 10 Members of Parliament and the 10 state assemblymen.

“This is the compensation they agreed to pay for defecting from PKR and appropriating the seat for their personal benefit and used against PKR’s interest. The letters of demand require them to pay the sum not later than seven days.

“If they fail to pay in the time and manner stipulated, the party has instructed its lawyers to commence the appropriate proceedings against them to recover the compensation demanded,” PKR treasurer-general Lee Chean Chung said in a statement.

The MPs include International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Azmin Ali (Gombak), Housing and Local Government Minister Zuraida Kamaruddin (Ampang), Communications and Multimedia Minister Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah (Indera Mahkota) and Deputy Foreign Minister Datuk Kamaruddin Jaffar (Bandar Tun Razak).The others are Deputy Higher Education Minister Datuk Mansor Othman (Nibong Tebal), Deputy Dewan Rakyat Speaker Datuk Mohd Rashid Hasnon (Batu Pahat), Deputy Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Dr Edmund Santhara Kumar (Segamat), Deputy Minister of Energy and Natural Resources Ali Biju (Saratok), Deputy Home Affairs Minister Jonathan Yasin (Ranau) and Selangau MP Baru Bian.All of them were either expelled from or left PKR earlier this year.

All the MPs, except for Baru, later joined the Perikatan Nasional government along with MPs from Bersatu, Barisan Nasional, PAS and GPS.

The 10 assemblymen include Pemanis assemblyman Dr Chong Fat Full, Rembia assemblyman Datuk Muhammad Jailani Khamis, Kuala Kurau assemblyman Datuk Abdul Yunus Jamahri, Gombak Setia assemblyman Muhammad Hilman Idham, Lunas assemblyman Azman Nasrudin and Sidam assemblyman Dr Robert Ling Kui Ee.The others are Lembah Jaya assemblyman Haniza Mohamed Talha, Sementa assemblyman Daroyah Alwi, Seberang Jaya assemblyman Dr Afif Bahardin and Sungai Aceh assemblyman Zulkifli Ibrahim.

Haniza, Hilman, Dr Afif and Zulkifli were expelled from PKR.

In 2018, all PKR candidates for the 14th General Election signed a legal document to deter them from defecting to another party, which said they would pay a RM10mil fine if they did so.The signing of the document has been a practice within PKR.

Seremban Mentri Besar and state PKR chief Datuk Seri Aminuddin Harun said Negri Sembilan PKR welcomed the party’s decision, adding that the monies would help fund its programmes for the next general election.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Sabah govt should modernise agro-fisheries industry for self-sufficiency, says SUCCC
P-hailing companies given 14 days to submit comprehensive policy, says Nanta
Hot weather: Public urged to report smoke, small fires immediately
Dr Wee dedicates Warriors' Day wish to all frontliners
Art Harun recuses himself from any motions involving AG
#Lawan protesters disperse following police instructions
Cabinet advised King to proclaim state of emergency in Sarawak, says PMO
Walk-in vaccinations in the Klang Valley to start on Aug 2
GOF seizes bird's nests, vape gadgets and liquid worth RM410,000
#Lawan protest gets underway as crowd marches toward Dataran Merdeka

Stories You'll Enjoy