Barisan Nasional wins Tg Piai by-election with 15,086 vote majority

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 16 Nov 2019

PONTIAN: EC Returning Officer Zulkifli Mohd Tahir declares Barisan Nasional candidate Datuk Seri Dr Wee Jeck Seng the winner of the Tanjung Piai by-election with a majority of 15,086 votes.

Wee garnered 25,466 votes to emerge victorious in the six-cornered fight for the parliamentary constituency.

His closest rival, Karmaine Sardini from Pakatan Harapan, managed to get 10,380 votes.

Meanwhile, Gerakan’s Wendy Subramaniam received 1,707 votes, while Berjasa president Badhrulhisham Abdul Aziz got 850 votes.

The two independent candidates in the race, Dr Ang Chuan Lock and Faridah Aryani Abdul Ghaffar, only managed to pull in 380 and 32 votes, respectively.

Zulkifli also announced that there were 595 spoilt votes in the by-election while 30 ballot papers were not returned.

The EC also announced that voter turnout was 74.43%.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across The Star Online