MCA's Eric Choo is youngest Barisan candidate in GE14 Melaka list

  • Nation
  • Monday, 23 Apr 2018

MELAKA: MCA's Kota Melaka parliamentary candidate Eric Choo Wei Sern (pic) emerges as the youngest aspirant in the state's Barisan Nasional candidate list for GE14.

The 30-year-old Choo will be entering into a neck-and-neck race with DAP stalwart Khoo Poay Tiong and former Melaka DAP chairman Goh Leong San, who is contesting as an independent.

He was one of the founders of the MCA United Kingdom Club in 2006 and was elected as president of the same club in 2008.

Choo, a lawyer, has been active in the constituency for more than a year.

He is often spotted at religious events and well liked by village folks for his soft spoken and low-profile disposition.

When interviewed, the father of a one-year-old son acknowledged the contest would be tough.

However, he said Barisan poses advantage in wresting the Opposition stronghold based on several factors including the fact that the coalition served the constituents diligently despite losing the seat in 2008.

Earlier, state Barisan chairman Datuk Seri Idris Haron announced the list of candidates for the state.

He said the lists consists of 30% new faces. 

Melaka has 28 state seats and six parliamentary seats.

In GE13, Barisan formed the state government, having won 21 state seats, while DAP grabbed six and PAS won one seat. 

The following is the list of GE14 Barisan candidates for Melaka: 

Parliament seats

Masjid Tanah - Mas Ermieyati Samsudin (Umno)

Tangga Batu - Zali Mat Yasin (Umno)

Alor Gajah - Wong Nai Chee (MCA)

Hang Tuah Jaya formerly Bukit Katil)- Mohd Ali Rustam (Umno)

Kota Melaka - Eric Choo Wei Sern (MCA)

Jasin - Ahmad Hamzah (Umno) 

State seats

Kuala Linggi - Ismail Othman (Umno)

Tanjung Bidara - Md Rawi Mahmud (Umno)

Ayer Limau - Amirudin Yusop (Umno)

Lendu - Sulaiman Md Ali (Umno)

Taboh Naning - Latipah Omar (Umno)

Rembia - Norpipah Abdol (Umno)

Gadek - P. Panirchelvam (MIC)

Machap Jaya - Koh Nai Kwong (MCA-new)

Durian Tunggal- Ab Wahab Ab Latip (Umno)

Asahan- Abdul Ghafar Atan (Umno)

Sungai Udang - Idris Haron (Umno)

Pantai Kundor - Nor Azman Hassan (Umno)

Paya Rumput - Dr Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah (Umno)

Klebang - Lim Ban Hong (MCA)

Pengkalan Batu (formerly Bachang) Chua Lian Chye (Gerakan)

Ayer Keroh - Chua Keng Hwa (MCA)

Bukit Katil (fomerly Bukit Baru) - Yunus Hitam (Umno)

Ayer Molek - Rahmad Mariman (Umno)

Kesidang - Ng Choon Koon (MCA)

Kota Laksamana - Melvin Chua Kew Mei (MCA)

Duyong - Lee Kiat Lee (MCA)

Bandar Hilir - Lee Chong Leng (MCA)

Telok Mas - Abdul Razak Abdul Rahman (Umno)

Bemban - Kon Chin Han (MCA)

Rim - Ghazale Muhamad (Umno)

Serkam- Zaidi Atan (Umno)

Merlimau - Roslan Ahmad (Umno)

Sungai Rambai - Hasan Abd Rahman (Umno)

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

INTERACTIVE: Crouching Tigers, Hidden Cameras
Appeal to relax polls SOP
Ahmad: Allow some visits and meets
Stricter SOP ‘necessary’
Melaka folk relieved at restrictions on activities
Farming methods to be updated
Harnessing tech key to Asean growth
Landmark citizenship ruling
Whole town abuzz over super-sized passion fruit
Woman disguised as beggar robs priest

Others Also Read