Kedah PAS names 50 candidates for parliamentary, state seats

  • Nation
  • Friday, 20 Apr 2018

ALOR SETAR: PAS has named 50 candidates to be fielded in almost all the parliamentary and state seats in Kedah.

Only the parliamentary seat of Langkawi will be contested by Parti Ikatan Rakyat Malaysia, which is aligned to PAS under Gagasan Sejahtera here.

Kedah PAS commissioner Dr Ahmad Fakhruddin Sheikh Fakhrurrazi said the candidates will provide healthy competition against Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Harapan.

"Although we are hit by a lot of accusations and allegations, I believe PAS candidates and members will be strong and focus on winning.

"Candidates, please meet with the rakyat, talk to them well and politely and their hearts will open to us," he said at the announcement event at the state PAS complex in Kota Sarang Semut on Thursday (April 19).

Dr Ahmad Fakhruddin said all PAS candidates had been vetted by the Syura Council and had experience working the ground on local issues.

"We believe they are capable of a transparent government with effective administration, to resolve the rakyat's issues and develop the state.

"Some of the candidates are lawyers, doctors, engineers, scholars, pharmacists and entrepreneurs, they are professionals who can form a technocrat state government," he said.

PAS is also fielding women candidates in four one parliamentary and four state seats.


Candidates for the 14 parliamentary seats are as follows:

Jerlun - Abd Ghani Ahmad

Kubang Pasu - Norhafiza Fadzil

Padang Terap - Mohamad Azam Abd Aziz

Pokok Sena - Muhamad Radhi Mat Din

Alor Setar - Muhammad Aminur Shafiq Mohamad Abduh

Kuala Kedah - Muhamad Riduan Othman

Pendang - Awang Hashim

Jerai - Mohamad Ismail

Sik - Ahmad Tarmizi Sulaiman

Merbok - Ahmad Fauzi Ramli

Sungai Petani - Shahril Long

Baling - Hassan Saad

Padang Serai - Muhamad Sobri Osman

Kulim Bandar Baharu - Hasan Abdul Razak


Candidates for the 36 state seats are as follows:

Ayer Hangat - Azlina Azinan

Kuah - Mazlan Ahmad

Kota Siputeh - Mat Jah Md Akhir

Ayer Hitam - Azhar Ibrahim

Bukit Kayu Hitam - Habshah Bakar

Jitra - Zulhazmi Osman

Kuala Nerang - Munir Zakaria

Pedu - Mohd Radzi Md Amin

Bukit Lada - Salim Mahmood

Bukit Pinang - Wan Romani Wan Salim

Derga - Yahya Saad

Suka Menanti - Mohd Sabri Omar

Kota Darul Aman - Zulkifli Che Haron

Alor Mengkudu - Ahmad Yahaya

Anak Bukit - Hamdi Ishak

Kubang Rotan - Omar Saad

Pengkalan Kundor - Dr Ahmad Fakhruddin Sheikh Fakhrurrazi

Tokai - Datuk Dr Mohd Hayati Othman

Sungai Tiang - Saiful Syazwan Shafie

Sungai Limau - Muhammad Azam Abd Samat

Guar Chempedak - Mussodak Ahmad

Gurun - Muzaini Azizan

Belantek - Md Isa Shafie

Jeneri - Muhammad Sanusi Md Noor

Bukit Selambau - Mohd Ali Sulaiman

Tanjong Dawai - Hanif Ghazali

Pantai Merdeka - Ahmad Fadzli Hashim

Bakar Arang - Othman Che Mee

Sidam - Noor Hidayah Foo Abdullah

Bayu - Abdul Nasir Idris

Kupang - Datuk Najmi Ahmad

Kuala Ketil - Mansor Zakaria

Merbau Pulas - Datuk Siti Ashah Ghazali

Lunas - Ahmad Taufiq Baharum

Kulim - Mohd Khairi Mohd Salleh

Bandar Baharu - Rohaizat Jaafar

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

nation , candidates , nomination day


Next In Nation

Measures to rescue Malaysians from job scams among focus at Dewan Rakyat on Oct 4
Covid-19 Watch: 1,244 new cases bring total to 4,845,109
PM under the spotlight
‘Wolves in sheep’s clothing must be banned’
I can ‘come back to life’, says Tajuddin
PAS to meet with Umno bigwigs to discuss direction of cooperation for GE15
The lure of Lion City
Make it convenient for us to segregate waste, say Malaysians
‘No quick fix for foreign worker shortage’
Nine Emperor Gods Festival comes to a grand finale

Others Also Read