PSM to contest 17 seats for GE14

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 10 Feb 2018

PETALING JAYA: Parti Sosialis Malaysia (PSM) will contest five parliamentary and 12 state seats in the coming general election.

At the launch of the party's election manifesto on Saturday (Feb 10), PSM announced that it would contest the five parliamentary seats of  Batu Gajah, Subang, Cameron Highlands, Hulu Langat and Sungai Siput.

The 12 state seats consist of Bukit Lanjan, Jelai, Port Klang, Tronoh, Buntong, Sri Muda, Kota Lama, Menglembu, Semenyih, Jelapang, Kota Damansara and Malim Nawar.

It appears likely that PSM will find itself in three-way contests against Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Harapan in most, if not all the seats.

PSM central committee member S. Arutchelvan will contest in the Hulu Langat parliamentary seat while Dr Michael Jeyakumar will defend his Sungai Siput seat.

Dr Jeyakumar contested under the PKR banner during the 13th General Election.

The Hulu Langat seat is currently held by PAS' Che Rosli Che Mat, while PKR's R. Sivarasa is Subang MP. PSM candidate Sivarajan will contest in the Subang seat.

PSM also named its Cameron Highlands secretary Suresh Kumar as its candidate fo the Cameron Highlands seat, which is currently held by former MIC president Datuk Seri G. Palanivel.

Former Otai Reformis secretary Abdul Razak Ismail will contest in the Sri Muda state seat, currently held by PKR's Mat Shuhaimi Shafiei, who is also Selangor Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Azmin Ali's political secretary.

The Port Klang state seat is held by former Selangor mentri besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim who is an independent. It will be contested by PSM man Shanmuga Sundaram.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site