Chief Justice heads honours list

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 09 Sep 2017

PUTRAJAYA: Chief Justice Tan Sri Md Rauf Sharif and two former ministers top the honours list in conjunction with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V’s official birthday today.

The two former ministers are MCA veteran and former Housing, Local Government and New Village Minister Tan Sri Michael Chen and former Works Minister and MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu.

The three will be awarded the Darjah Kebesaran Seri Setia Mahkota (SSM), which carries the title “Tun”.

Chen, 85, had also served as the president for Dewan Negara while Samy Vellu, 81, is the Government’s special envoy to India and South Asia for infrastructure.

The King will also bestow the Darjah Panglima Mangku Negara (PMN), which carries the title “Tan Sri” to three individuals.

They are Court of Appeal president Tan Sri Zulkefli Ahmad Makinudin, Armed Forces chief Jen Tan Sri Raja Mohamed Affandi Raja Mohamed Noor and newly-appointed Inspector-General of Police Datuk Seri Mohamad Fuzi Harun.

Among the recipients: (From left) Chen, Samy Vellu and Dr Sharifah Zarah are among those conferred titles by the King.

Forty-eight people will be awarded the Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM), which also carries the title “Tan Sri”.

Among the recipients are Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Aman, Tengku Temenggong Kelan-tan Datuk Tengku Muhamad Rizam Tengku Abdul Aziz, Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) chief commissioner Datuk Dzulkifli Ahmad, Royal Malaysian Air Force chief Jen Datuk Seri Affendi Buang, Army chief Jen Datuk Seri Zulkiple Kassim and Communications and Multimedia Ministry secretary-general Datuk Seri Dr Sharifah Zarah Syed Ahmad.

Other recipients include Sun-suria Bhd executive chairman Datuk Ter Leong Yap, HSS Engi-neers Bhd executive director Datuk Seri Kuna Sittampalam, Ideal Pro-perty Group executive chairman Datuk Alex Ooi, Press Metal Bhd group chief executive officer Datuk Paul Koon Poh Keong, Ekovest Sdn Bhd managing director Datuk Seri Lim Keng Cheng and Petronas president and group chief executive officer Datuk Wan Zulkiflee Wan Ariffin.

Senate president Datuk Seri S. Vigneswaran, Public Service Depart-ment director-general Datuk Seri Zainal Rahim Seman, Election Com-mission chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Hashim Abdullah and Bank Negara governer Datuk Muhammad Ibrahim will also be awarded the PSM.

The King will also award the Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN) to 51 individuals. The award carries the title “Datuk”.

Koon, Ter and Ooi are among those conferred titles by the King.

The recipients include MACC deputy chief commissioner Datuk Azam Baki, Foreign Ministry secretary-general Datuk Ramlan Ibrahim, sports personalities Datuk Lee Chong Wei and Datuk Nicol David, and Kuching High Court judge Stephen Chung Hian Guan.

Tebrau MP Khoo Soo Seang and former MCA vice-president Woon See Chin are also slated to receive the PJN award.

Also among the recipients of the PJN are Daihatsu Motor Co Ltd director Shigeharu Toda and Sungai Buloh-Kajang Line MRT Corporation Bhd project director Marcus Levon Karakashin.

To honour their contribution towards sports, five individuals will receive the Kesatria Mangku Negara (KMN).

They are national paralympic head coach R. Jaganathan, national cyclist and world keirin champion Azizulhusni Awang, and paralympians Mohamad Ridzuan Puzi, Muhammad Ziyad Zolkefli and Abdul Latif Romly.

A total of 1,518 were conferred awards.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Government , agong , birthday , honours


Next In Nation

Malaysia regains Cat 1 International Aviation Safety Assessment safety rating, says Dr Wee
PM to seek audience with King to present potential parliament dissolution dates
PM to seek audience with King to present possible Parliament dissolution dates
Over RM8.8mil claimed in child car seat rebates, says Miros
Umno top five reach consensus on GE15, but date still opaque
Black panther caught in Semenyih housing estate
MACC chief among those in Sabah Governor's birthday honour list
Shah Alam stadium to be demolished, new state-of-the-art facility to be built in its place
Umno supreme council members arrive for special meeting
Telecommunication tower to be built in Danum Valley, says Comms Ministry sec-gen

Others Also Read