True practice of elective monarchy

Tuanku Muhammad V taking the oath as the 14th Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong at the Special Meeting of the Conference of Rulers back in December 2011. — BERNAMApic

MALAYSIA welcomes a new King at the helm every five years in accordance with its unique rotational basis of its monarchy institution.

This special system was suggested by Almarhu Tuanku Abdul Rahman, the first Yang di-Pertuan Agong; an idea borrowed from Negri Sembilan, where the nine region chiefs take turns to be the Yang di-Pertuan Besar. The nine members of the Conference of Rulers select the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, or Supreme Ruler, of the country.

Get 30% off with our ads free Premium Plan

Monthly Plan


Annual Plan


Billed as RM103.60/year

1 month

Free Trial

For new subscribers only

Cancel anytime. No ads. Auto-renewal. Unlimited access to the web and app. Personalised features. Members rewards.
Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Government , Agong


Next In Nation

Tourism minister has authority to appoint, terminate Tourism Malaysia DG, says KSN
TAR UMT Sabah campus a 'significant milestone', says Dr Wee
Selangor Sultan grants audience to Nga
MetMalaysia: 12 localities in four states to experience heatwave up to 37 degrees celcius
Suggested revival of civil service tribunal needs to be discussed first, says Fahmi
Chap Goh Mei sees single ladies gather to toss mandarin oranges at the Esplanade in Penang
Cops detain man at pro-Palestine protest at US embassy
Tourist arrivals still behind pre-pandemic levels, says Tourism Malaysia
Sabah dams can sustain supply for up to three months during prolonged drought
Sabah ready to face hot weather, ensure adequate water supply, says CM

Others Also Read