Dr Wee receives Nanyang Distinguished Alumni Award

  • Nation
  • Sunday, 16 Oct 2016

PETALING JAYA: Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong has been awarded the prestigious Nanyang Distinguished Alumni Award by Singapore's Nanyang Technological University (NTU).

In a ceremony held in Singapore on Saturday, Dr Wee was conferred the award by Singapore's acting education minister Ong Ye Kung in recognition of his success in the Malaysian political arena and his stalwart public service.

The a ward is the highest honour bestowed upon of the alumni of NTU.

According to the NTU website, the award recognises the accomplishments of alumni who have gained national, regional or international distinction as outstanding exponents of their chosen fields.

Dr Wee, who is also MCA deputy president, is the only non-Singaporean citizen to have received the award.

"I am extremely honoured for being conferred the Nanyang Distinguished Alumni Award, the highest honour bestowed upon the alumni," said Dr Wee in a Facebook post on Sunday, adding that the was grateful for the recognition despite leaving NTU 20 years ago.

He obtained his Master's degree in Traffic Engineering at the NTU School of Civil and Structural Engineering in 1996.

The other two recipients of the Nanyang Distinguished Alumni Award are Dr Liang Wern Fook, who completed his PhD in Chinese Literature in 2000, and Wu Hsioh Kwang, who obtained a bachelor's degree in communications in 1974.

Besides the Nanyang Distinguished Alumni Award, NTU has three other award categories for its alumni, which are the Nanyang Alumni Achievement Award, the Nanyang Outstanding Young Alumni Award and the Nanyang Alumni Service Award.

Dr Wee had also previously received the Nanyang Alumni Achievement Award in 2012.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site