1,849 conferred royal awards on King's birthday

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 6 Jun 2009

The Yang di-Pertuan Agong's birthday honours list 2009

KUALA LUMPUR: Chief Justice Tan Sri Zaki Tun Azmi heads a list of 1,849 recipients of awards and medals in conjunction with the birthday of the Yang diPertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin today.

He receives the Seri Setia Mahkota Malaysia (SSM) award which carries the title “Tun”.

Datin Seri Endon Mahmood, the late wife of former prime minister Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, has been posthumously conferred the SSM.

National badminton player Datuk Lee Chong Wei is bestowed the Darjah Bakti award, which is of high standing although it does not come with any title.

A total of 44 people are conferred the “Tan Sri” title. Of them, three receive the Panglima Mangku Negara (PMN) award.

They are Court of Appeal president Tan Sri Alauddin Mohd Sheriff; former MCA president Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting and former Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar.

The other 41 receive the Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM). Among them are MERCY Malaysia president Datuk Dr Jemilah Mahmood; Star Publications executive director Datuk Seri Kamal Mohamad Hashim, Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS) adviser Datuk Seri Herman Luping, MCA patrok Datuk Lim Bah, Datuk Lim Kang Yew also of the MCA, Datuk K. Ravindran of MIC and former Information Minister Datuk Seri Zainuddin Maidin.

Among those receiving the Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN) award, which carries the Datuk title, are Court of Appeal judge Datuk Gopal Sri Ram, UiTM’s Prof Dr Shad Saleem Faruqi and PRS secretary-general Wilfred Rata Nissom, former national footballer Datuk Abdul Ghani Minhat, MSC headquarters chief executive officer Datuk Mohd Badlisham Ghazali, Securiforce executive director Shaheen Chugtai Mirza Habib Jan and Soon Chang Hiang Sdn Bhd managing director Yii Ming Tang.

Nation , News