Fang Wyei gets his crown back

FORMER three-time champion Tan Fang Wyei regained the state badminton title by beating Indonesian sparring coach Ari Anshori in straight games in the final of the Kedah-Yonex Closed championships at the Kedah Badminton Association (KBA) hall.

Champion from 2007 to 2009, Fang Wyei was denied a fourth straight title by Tan Aik Quan at the semi-final stage last year.

With Aik Quan not defending his title this year (he has joined the national back-up squad), Fang Wyei cruised to the title unabated.

He was in full control throughout the tournament winning all his five earlier matches in straight games.

In the final against Ari, southpaw Fang Wyei used a wide range of strokes to dominate the first game which he won 21-15 in 17 minutes.

But he found the going a bit tougher as his opponent matched him point for point the rest of the way. The match hung in the balance even when he reached match point at 20-18.

Ari saved two match points as he levelled the score at 20-20 but in his haste to go for the kill, he smashed out the next point and followed it up by netting the final point to hand Fang Wyei the game at 22-20.

The winner received a Yonex racket, a trophy and cash of RM250 while Ari got a Yonex bag, trophy and RM150 cash.

Fang Wyei’s bid to retain the men’s doubles title and score a grand double ended in ruins as he and partner Quah Ann Yang were ousted by an unseeded pair, Tan Chee Tean and Teoh Wen Chai in the quarter-final in three hard fought games.

Chee Tean and Wen Chai overcame a first game deficit of 13-21 to narrowly win the next two by 24-22 and 22-20 to march to the semi-finals.

The pair ultimately won the title by beating Indonesian sparring coaches Ari Anshori and Ardi Wiranata in three games of 21-17, 16-21 and 21-15 for their maiden title.

The winning pair received cash of RM400, a trophy and Yonex racket each while the losers received RM250, trophy and a bag.

For Ari, it was a payday as he collected a total of RM275 for being a loser in both the singles and doubles finals.

In the women’s singles category, Nur Aiffa Tajeri successfully defended her crown by beating unseeded M. Sumathi in three games of 21-11, 18-21, 21-18 in the final.

The doubles title was won by Jolynn Lim Chea Ru and M. Sumathi who were the top seeds. They defeated the unseeded combi-nation of Lim Hui Hui and Pearly Tan Khong Le in a lop-sided match by 21-6, 21-16 in the final.

Sumathi’s victory in the doubles and a runner-up position in the singles enabled her to pocket a total cash prize of RM225, two trophies, a Yonex brand bag and Yonex racket.

The veterans doubles title was won by Sim Wei Min and Yew Choon Ann who beat Lee Chin Lee and Yew Se Chik 21-18, 14-21, 21-15 in the final while the senior veterans doubles title was won by top seeds Lee Yau Teh and Wong Kam Seng who defeated Chong Peng Sin and Lim Han Boo 21-11, 21-14 in the final.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Stories You'll Enjoy