One admin system for four cities in Selangor

Amirudin: Klang Raya Valley will standardise business and development processes.

FOUR cities in Selangor will come under Klang Raya Valley, says Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Amirudin Shari.

He said the Klang Raya Valley Enactment would create an administrative system for the four city councils.

They are Shah Alam City Council (MBSA), Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ), Subang Jaya City Council (MBSJ) and Klang Royal City Council (MBDK).

“The creation of an administrative system is aimed at improving matters related to the quality of local authority services, public transport, rejuvenation of existing residential and commercial areas and to better address the issue of leasehold land.

“It will standardise business and development processes, reduce bureaucracy and make life easier for the people.

“It was initiated to attract investment in new industries based on digitisation, so that Klang Raya Valley is resilient in facing climate change and becomes sustainable and liveable,” Amirudin said at the Selangor State Assembly sitting in Shah Alam.

He said the implementation year of 2024 was in line with First Selangor Plan (RS-1) from 2021 to 2025, which listed 262 projects, programmes and initiatives designed to cover four main core areas – economic strengthening, improving well-being and social inclusion, driving sustainability as well as smart and effective governance.

“All these initiatives have been examined to ensure their implementation is in line with the development goals of RS-1.”

Amirudin said the development of three new economic regions in RS-1 – Integrated Development Region in South Selangor (Idriss), Sabak Bernam Development Area (Sabda) in North Selangor and Selangor Maritime Gateway (SMG) along Sungai Klang – had put Selangor in a strong position, attracting investment commitments of RM29.1bil to date.

“Idriss specialises in developments in Sepang and Kuala Langat districts covering 20,000ha, with an estimated gross development value (GDV) of RM1tril with several mega projects,” he added.

“These include Pulau Carey Special Economic Zone involving between 4,046.8ha and 5,260ha of land for the development of a logistics hub and NCT Smart Industrial Park, which focuses on the manufacturing sector.”

Amirudin said the state government only offered non-financial incentives such as facilitating the coordination of development approvals and other assistance required through Invest Selangor.

“Financial incentives are only offered by Federal Government.

“The state government also has Selangor Lab Partnership Programme, which is an initiative to help industry players reduce costs for research and product development by utilising existing facilities and expertise in academic institutions.”

Amirudin said the development of Pulau Carey’s deep-sea port was still in the preliminary stage.

Port Klang Authority (LPK) had completed feasibility studies while Transport Ministry had given its approval, he said.

“Selangor government is committed to working together with Transport Ministry on the development of Pulau Carey as a project under Idriss.”

Replying to Rajiv Rishyakaran (PH-Bukit Gasing) on the status of the third port, Amirudin said Selangor government through Menteri Besar Incorporated had begun discussions with land owners to explore development around the port area.

It was reported that a third port was necessary as Northport and Westport in Port Klang had almost reached maximum capacity.

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Next In Metro News

Getting them green at schools
Single malt whisky inspired by the Scottish countryside
‘Stay off pedestrian walkway at PJ’s Astaka sports field’
Finger-pointing on upkeep of KL heritage building
Mayor: Low-carbon grants beneficial
Create Johoreans with first-class mentality, media told
Cuisine curated to complement cocktails
Rep: Sibu needs performing arts centre
Seeing eye-to-eye on health services
Drink series to gin up the night

Others Also Read