MRT Putrajaya Line Phase Two to start operations on March 16

THE MRT Putrajaya Line Phase Two will start operations at 3pm on Thursday (March 16).

Phase one of the line that connected Kwasa Damansara station to Kampung Batu station, began operations on June 16, last year.

With the opening of phase two, the rail line will connect Kampung Batu station to Putrajaya Sentral station, completing the MRT Putrajaya Line 57.7km route from Kwasa Damansara station to Putrajaya Sentral station that would take 84mins of travel time.

MRT Rapid Rail chief operating officer Ramli Shafie said there would be 49 four-car trains operating from 6am until midnight, daily.

"Every train has a 1,200-commuter capacity.

"For a start, the train frequency on weekdays would be every five minutes during the peak hours and every 10 minutes during the non-peak hours, and between seven and 15 minutes during weekends and public holidays.

"All trains are equipped with live closed circuit television cameras that are connected to a control centre for surveillance.

"There is also an emergency wheelchair available in every train," he said during a briefing session for the media at Chan Sow Lin station on March 14.

Ramli said the MRT Putrajaya Line would have 36 stations in total, out of which 10 were interchange stations to other rail services.

He said the rail line would connect commuters to several key stations that provide better connectivity and convenience, including the Titiwangsa station which was in an area being developed into a transportation hub.

"Touted to be the 'second KL Sentral', commuters at the Titiwangsa station will be able to connect to LRT Ampang Line, LRT Sri Petaling Line and KL Monorail.

"The Hospital Kuala Lumpur station was equipped with travelators. The station is also close to KPJ Tawakkal KL Specialist Hospital and attractions including Istana Budaya and Taman Tasik Titiwangsa.

"Putrajaya Sentral provides connectivity to ERL KLIA Express and KLIA Transit services. The MRT feeder bus will provide the last mile connectivity to various destinations in the city," he said.

He also said other key stations would be Ampang Park, Tun Razak Exchange, Chan Sow Lin and Persiaran KLCC.

On Park and Ride facilities, he said there would be an additional 3,445 parking bays in phase two, bringing the total to 6,416 parking spaces in 17 stations with car park facilities.

"Parking charges for MRT users will be RM4.30 per entry per day, when using the same Touch n’ Go card to pay for the train ticket and parking fee.

"Non-MRT users will be charged RM3.30 for the first hour and RM1.10 for every subsequent hour.

"For motorcycles, parking charges will be RM1.10 per entry per day," he said.

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

MRT , Kwasa Damansara , Putrajaya Sentral ,


Next In Metro News

Jalan Sultan Ismail to return to one-way traffic from July 22
Cosplay fest draws 50,000 to Penang
Association to promote pickleball in Johor
‘Forest farmers’ in despair
Turning beauty into a business
RM750,000 set aside for Batu Pahat
Lobster stars on new menu
State achieves close to 70% of five-year initiative
Community unites to plant trees in Bukit Jelutong park
Labuan’s coral reefs shine at dive festival

Others Also Read