Six PSM leaders, including Sungai Siput MP, to get RM200,000 in damages for wrongful arrest

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 08 Oct 2013

KUALA LUMPUR: The Government has agreed to an out-of-court settlement of RM200,000 in damages over a wrongful arrest suit brought against it by six Parti Sosialis Malaysia (PSM) members, including Sungai Siput MP Michael Jeyakumar Devaraj.

Justice Hue Siew Kheng on Tuesday recorded the consent judgement, entered on the terms of the settlement read out by the plaintiffs' counsel Yudistra Darma Dorai.

"Now the suit has been settled. I thank you all parties," she said.

Earlier, Yudistra read out the settlement in the presence of all parties.

In the March 23 suit over false imprisonment and misfeasance, plaintiffs Jeyakumar, M. Sukumaran, A.P. Letchumanan, Choo Chon Kai, M. Saraswathy and R.R. Sarat Babu named 82 defendants, including the Inspector-General of Police and his deputy, the Government, the Home Ministry, the Attorney-General and a deputy public prosecutor, along with at least 60 police officers.

In their statement of claim, the six claimed their detention was unjustified and unlawful, and had been done for political reasons.

They also claimed that they were denied their legal rights while in custody, including their right to consult with a lawyer.

They sought a declaration that their rights under the Federal Constitution had been infringed upon, and claimed assessed damages, aggravated and exemplary damages, costs, and other damages and relief deemed fit by the court.

The six were detained in a bus along the North-South Expressway on June 25 last year on charges of treason against the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

They were released on July 2 when their remand period expired.

However, they were rearrested under the Emergency Ordinance and freed 27 days later on July 29.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Nation

Dr Wee: All relevant agencies should look into overly loud motorcycle exhausts
Datuk, wife among nine nabbed over involvement in international drug trafficking ring
Seat negotiation talks between PAS-Bersatu not part of Muafakat agreement, says Ahmad Zahid
Sabah police hunting two suspected car thieves
Woman, 60, escapes after being abducted and robbed outside KK sundry shop
Putra will not favour any political bloc in GE15, says Ibrahim Ali
Alvin Goh, brother to be charged with money laundering involving RM2.14mil
No Ramadan bazaars in Kelantan, says state health exco
MEF: Companies should let employees take time off to get Covid-19 vaccine
Bunny farm boss begins sky bike centre in Ranau

Stories You'll Enjoy