How to stop Google copying your smartphone photos onto its servers


  • TECH
  • Sunday, 02 Dec 2018

If you're an Android user, there's a good chance copies of your private photos and videos are being sent to Google's servers through the Photos app. — dpa

When you first use Google's photo app, it will ask you whether you want your photos and videos to be backed up or not. But many people forget having given their consent.

You can look up what data like this gets copied from your phone to Google's servers in your Android smartphone's settings. Go to settings/accounts/Google, and you'll also find the options to deactivate synchronisation in each category.

Anyone who's wondering how photos and videos end up on Google servers even though there's no category for them under "account" should have a look in the settings of their Google photo app.

That's where you can switch off the synchronisation feature, meaning photos and videos are stored only on your smartphone. – dpa
Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
   

Next In Tech News

Ransomware gangs get more aggressive against US law enforcement
Google childcare workers circulate petition for commute pay
Watch out for hackers, Britain’s spy agency tells smart cities
How Twitter could help improve dental education
Why everyone should adopt dual authentication for their Google account
TikTok is still the world’s most downloaded app
WhatsApp delays enforcing new privacy terms
Risks and rewards of banking on investing tools Premium
Ransom group linked to Colonial Pipeline hack is new but experienced
SpaceX accepts dogecoin as payment to launch lunar mission next year

Stories You'll Enjoy


Vouchers