10 teams for first MNBL tourney

  • Other Sport
  • Thursday, 28 Jun 2012

PETALING JAYA: The inaugural Malaysian National Basketball League (MNBL) is set to be held in September with 10 teams in action.

The MNBL replaces the National Basketball League (NBL) won by the Miri Fire Horse last year.

The league will have six teams in the men’s and four in the women’s competitions respectively. There will not be any foreign teams this time.

Malaysian Basketball Association (MABA) deputy president Datuk Hoo Shau Fatt revealed that slight changes had been made to the MNBL.

“Our initial plan was to have four local and three foreign teams,” said Shau Fatt.

“However, after further discussion, we’ve decided against it as funding would be an issue because of logistical problems.

“We also want to give the local players more competitive matches. Things are moving along and several parties have expressed interest in entering teams.”

Shau Fatt added that MABA would replace the Under-14, Under-16 and Under-18 tournaments next year with the Under-15, Under-17 and Under-20 age groups.

“This is because outstanding players always end up being overaged for our national junior tournaments. We believe it is more beneficial to change the age groups so as to retain the more promising players,” said Shau Fatt.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3


Across the site