Battle of the champions

  • Community Sports
  • Wednesday, 10 Apr 2019

Shahrul (sixth from right) with the sponsors of the VI Premier 10s Rugby Tournament 2019. On his right is Kamarul Azman.

THIS year’s Victoria Institution (VI) Premier 10s Rugby Tournament will witness national and state champions battling each other to win the coveted 24-karat gold-plated G.E.D. Lewis Challenge Cup, named after a former VI headmaster who had steered the school to winning various accolades.

Organising committee chairman Sahrul Salim said 48 school teams had confirmed their participation in the school-level tournament which will be held on April 13 and 14 at VI Green in Jalan Hang Tuah, Kuala Lumpur.

Among the teams who have confirmed their participation are SMK Sri Mersing, SM Sains Hulu Selangor, SM Sains Tengku Abdullah, SMK Tinggi Batu Pahat, St John Institution, English College, SM Sains Alam Shah, Sekolah Tuanku Abdul Rahman Ipoh, Sekolah Integrasi Kuantan, SM Sains Selangor, Sekolah Integrasi Gombak, Malay College Kuala Kangsar, Sekolah Datuk Abdul Razak, King Edward VII, Kelab KL Saracen, Royal Military College, SMK Damansara Utama and SM Sains Machang.

“The VI Premier 10s, to be co-organised by the Victoria Institution Rugby Club (VIRC) and the school itself, is set to unearth more rugby talents at the school level, where budding players from the 48 school teams are expected to display high skills to uphold their schools’ reputation in this gentlemen’s game.

“Some of the teams participating this year are state and national champions, which will definitely make this year’s tournament more exciting,” said Sahrul.

The teams will slog it out via a round-robin stage during the first day of the tournament, and the qualified teams will then go through the knock-out stages which will be held on the second day.

The finals of the Fork, Spoon, Shield, Bowl, Plate and Cup categories will also be played during the evening of the final day of the tournament.

Last year, SMK Sri Mersing of Johor won the Under-17 category while SM Sains Hulu Selangor won the Under-15 category.

The VI Under-17 team is expected to be a strong contender due to its impressive form lately, especially after the win over title favourite SM Sains Selangor in the recent final of the MSSKL rugby tournament. This is the third time VI became the “Rugby King of KL” after beating the same school last year.

“The senior VI team also has a point to prove as we were the 2017 champion of the Malaysia Airports Holdings Berhad’s Chairman Challenge Trophy, which saw participation from the top rugby schools in the country,” said Sahrul.

“We sincerely hope that more rugby enthusiasts, especially parents, will come to VI Green on that day to support their favourite teams. Admission is free for all.”

Present at the launch of the tournament was Malaysia Rugby Union (MRU) president Datuk Shahrul Zaman, VI principal Kamarul Azman Md Arif, teachers, parents and representatives of sponsors and supporters of the tournament.

The tournament is jointly organised by Kuala Lumpur City Hall, Privasia, VIRC and VI, and supported by Nestle, Carrisbrook, CIMB Islamic, Pran, Victoria Institution Old Boys’ Association (VIOBA), Ranhill, Athlete Republic, White Chili Cafe, Mok Teh Nasi Dagang, Gabung Cipta, Mandarin Court Hotel, Tresvitas and PSG.

The VI Premier 10s is the first school-level tournament to be sanctioned by the MRU.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site