New format for top six in SSPL Finals

PETALING JAYA: There’ll be a new twist to the RM1.5mil SS Purple League (SSPL) when the 2017-2018 season begins on Dec 18.

SSPL chief operating officer Datuk Jack Koh said that the top six teams who make it to the elimination round will be involved in another round-robin format to add excitement to the chase for the championship trophy.

The first stage of the league will see eight clubs fighting it out in a round-robin format at the Sports Arena in Taman Sentosa, Old Klang Road, from Dec 18-Jan 28.

The Finals will be at the Arena of Stars in Resorts World Genting from Feb 8-11.

The eight clubs are Ampang Jaya BC, Bangsar Hawks BC, Petaling Jaya BC, Kepong BC, Cheras BC, Petaling BC, Puchong United BC and Serdang BC.

“The Purple League is entering its fourth year. Previously, the top six teams after the completion of the league would battle it out on a knockout basis in the Finals. But we’ve changed it this time,” said Jack.

“The six teams will be divided into two groups and they will play in another round-robin format. All six then battle it out in the knockout stage.”

Jack said that they would maintain the 11x5 scoring format and limit each match to 30 minutes so as to make it television-friendly.

A total of 200 players from all over the world are expected to add spice to the competition.

Badminton , SS Purple League