No more the stepchild

Historical moment: Sabah’s first Governor Tun Datu Mustapha Datu Harun with then Deputy Prime Minister Tun Abdul Razak after proclaiming Sabah’s decision to form Malaysia with Sarawak, Malaya and Singapore on Sept 16, 1963.

IN July 1976, Parliament voted to relegate the status of Sabah and Sarawak from equal partner to one of the 13 states in Malaysia.

Forty-three years later, a Bill will be tabled in Parliament to restore the Bornean states’ equal partner status. It will need two-thirds majority support to be passed.

Limited time offer:
Just RM5 per month.

Monthly Plan


Billed as RM5/month for the 1st 6 months then RM13.90 thereafters.

Annual Plan


Billed as RM148.00/year

1 month

Free Trial

For new subscribers only

Cancel anytime. No ads. Auto-renewal. Unlimited access to the web and app. Personalised features. Members rewards.
Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Next In Columnists

Leveraging China's GDI to revitalise Malaysia’s industrial sector
Faking climax, or just on a dry run?
Pulled in different directions
Giving is receiving
Account 3 could be double-edged sword
Have the rebellious Ultras Malaya lost their gumption?
KKB by-election will test the political mood
Take pride in Jalur Gemilang
Poverty is real for Indians
Different reasons and seasons to quit – just ask Momota and Wendy

Others Also Read