Stockholm hosts Nobel Prize award ceremony 2023

  • World
  • Monday, 11 Dec 2023

STOCKHOLM, Dec. 10 (Xinhua) -- An awards ceremony was held on Sunday at the Concert Hall in Sweden's capital Stockholm for the laureates of this year's Nobel Prize.

Among this year's winners are Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L'Huillier in physics, Moungi G. Bawendi, Louis E. Brus and Aleksey Yekimov in chemistry, Katalin Kariko and Drew Weissman in physiology or medicine, Jon Fosse in literature and Claudia Goldin in economics.

Alfred Nobel believed in "knowledge, enlightenment and the pursuit of truth," said Astrid Soderbergh Widding, chair of the board of the Nobel Foundation in her opening address.

At this moment in history, plagued by increasingly polarized views and with wars and conflicts throughout the world, it is ever more important to keep Nobel's vision in mind, she added.

Nobel Prizes have been presented annually since 1901. The winners are announced in October each year.

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Next In World

Opposition protesters hurl petrol bombs at Albania government building
Powerful storm continues to soak Southern California
Algeria records 10.42 bln USD trade surplus in Jan.-Nov.
Gold rises on weaker U.S. dollar
Crude futures settle lower
U.S. dollar ticks down
Trinidad government hires two firms to recover sunken oil barge
8 killed, 4 injured in traffic accident in Tunisia
Three pandas to leave Belgian animal park for China
Kuwaiti 'death ship' carrying cattle causes stench in Cape Town

Others Also Read