Kemaman by-election: Polling centres open at 8am

CHUKAI: All 49 polling centres and 244 polling streams for the Kemaman by-election will open at 8am on Saturday (Dec 2).

The polling stations in four districts - Kemasik, Kijal, Chukai and Air Putih - will close at 6pm.

The by-election process will involve 2,102 staff of the Election Commission (EC), who will be on duty to ensure 141,043 eligible voters cast their votes.

Due to the floods, all 387 Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) and six Armed Forces personnel members eligible for early voting were directed to cast their votes by post because their services and focus were needed in flood situations.

Therefore, the early voting on Nov 28 saw only the spouses of three military personnel cast their ballots at the Kijal police station.

The by-election sees a one-on-one clash between Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate Gen (Rtd) Tan Sri Raja Mohamed Affandi Raja Mohamed Noor and Terengganu Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Samsuri Mokhtar, representing PAS.

It is being held following the decision of the Terengganu Election Court on Sept 26, which annulled the victory of PAS candidate Che Alias Hamid in the 15th General Election.- Bernama

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

PRK , Kemaman , polling centre , open


Next In Nation

New tax regime kicks in tomorrow
Loo says Jho Low went from friend to foe
Lifting burdens, elevating dreams
Shore power for greener cruises
Muhyiddin’s acquittal overturned
Free HPV vaccines well received
Reconsider service tax hike, govt urged
Sabah to restore razed British colonial building
Johor to send athlete to represent country in Summer Olympics�
Govt to continue efforts to enhance 'Back to School' assistance, says Anwar

Others Also Read