Dr Wee congratulates Sultan Johor for being chosen as 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong

PETALING JAYA: MCA president Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong has congratulated Sultan of Johor Sultan Ibrahim Almarhum Sultan Iskandar for being chosen as the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong for a five-year term, effective Jan 31, 2024.

Dr Wee, who is Ayer Hitam MP in Johor, posted the message on his Facebook page on Saturday (Oct 28).

Keeper of the Rulers’ Seal Tan Sri Syed Danial Syed Ahmad in a statement said the election was held at the Special 263rd Meeting of the Conference of Rulers at Istana Negara on Friday (Oct 27).

Sultan Ibrahim will replace Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah whose reign will end on Jan 30 next year.

The Malay Rulers also elected the Sultan of Perak Sultan Nazrin Shah as Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong for the same term.

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Dr Wee Ka Siong , Johor Sultan , King


Next In Nation

Two cargo boats seized for transporting controlled goods without permits in Tawau
Tiong sacks Tourism Malaysia DG
More talks over Madani white rice to be held before decision next month, says Anwar
Don't blame us for declining ringgit, Muhyiddin tells govt
Police tracking down culprit who defaced CNY banners in Penang
Viral 'RM50 note from dad' returned after four years
Nur Sajat to join Miss Mardi Gras Queen 2024 competition wearing traditional costume
Transport Ministry appoints chairmen for Penang and Langkawi ports
70-year-old woman lost RM900,000 to police impersonator
Body of missing fireman found after 19 hours

Others Also Read