Johor Sultan to be our new King

  • Nation
  • Friday, 27 Oct 2023

KUALA LUMPUR: The Sultan of Johor Sultan Ibrahim Almarhum Sultan Iskandar has been elected as the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong for a five-year term, effective Jan 31, 2024.

Keeper of the Rulers’ Seal Tan Sri Syed Danial Syed Ahmad in a statement said the election was held at the Special 263rd Meeting of the Conference of Rulers at Istana Negara on Friday (Oct 27).

Sultan Ibrahim will replace Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah whose reign will end on Jan 30 next year.

The Malay Rulers also elected the Sultan of Perak Sultan Nazrin Shah as Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong for the same term.

The special meeting, presided by the Sultan of Terengganu Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin, was attended by all Malay Rulers, except Kelantan and Perlis.

Syed Danial said both Houses of Parliament have been notified of the result of the election in accordance with Paragraph 3, Part 1, Third Schedule of the Federal Constitution.

"The Prime Minister (Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim) has also been notified,” he said. - Bernama

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Next In Nation

Middle East conflict: Higher Education Ministry considering repatriating Malaysian students
PM Anwar relieved nadir reunited with family, conveys thanks to Al Sisi
Iran's drone attack on Israel a legitimate act, says PM
PENN programme proves govt's commitment to boost Indian women's economic empowerment
Dr Wee presents memorandum outlining state Chinese community concerns to Johor MB
Chinese residents of a small town in Perak help Malay travellers have smooth drive
Civil servant, trader among five detained for making threats
King orders clarification on combat training diving pool project delay
National Unity Ministry to meet with those engaged in provocative online discussions on religion
Cops fire shots at car for running through roadblock in Gerik

Others Also Read