GE15: Pakatan's Adly wins Alor Gajah with slim 890-vote majority

MELAKA: Pakatan Harapan has won the Alor Gajah federal seat with a slim 890-vote majority against candidates from Barisan Nasional, Perikatan Nasional and Berjasa.

Its candidate, Adly Zahari, obtained 28,178 votes with Barisan’s Shahril Hamdan coming in second at 27,288.

Adly also beat Perikatan incumbent Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Md Yusof who trailed in third with 17,211 votes while Berjasa’s Muhammad Nazriq obtained 323 votes.

Although he was not present at the counting centre in UiTM Lendu here, Adly’s representatives arrived to claim victory on his behalf.

A total of 93,311 voters cast their ballots with 726 spoilt votes.

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

GE15 , Alor Gajah , Pakatan Harapan , Adly Zahari


Next In Nation

Former Langkawi MP Nawawi Ahmad passes away
Covid-19 Watch: 2,022 new cases, nationwide ICU bed usage at 67.2%
Penang Int'l Dragon Boat Festival returns, attracts 42 teams
PM to use existing vehicle at office, turns down new luxury car
No bloated Cabinet, please
PM urged to consult with party leaders on Cabinet line-up
Walk the talk, no court cluster, PM told
Appointment not a reward, says Anwar
Two-week deadline for subsidy plan
Tough to implement targeted subsidies, say experts

Others Also Read