Sarawak polls: PKR confirms contesting 27 seats, down from 47 under Pakatan deal

KUCHING: Sarawak PKR has confirmed that it will contest 27 seats in the state election, down from the 47 it was allocated in Pakatan Harapan's seat deal.

State PKR secretary Joshua Jabeng said the rationale for the reduction was to focus on winnable seats rather than contesting every seat.

He also said there would be no clashes with Pakatan partner DAP in the polls.

"The better way forward is to focus on winning, not contesting just for the sake of contesting.

"In the spirit of Harapan, we will not overlap (with DAP). We are partners and we will not stab each other in the back," he told a press conference when announcing the PKR candidates here on Friday (Dec 3).

PKR was initially set to contest 47 seats, DAP (26) and Parti Amanah Negara (9) in a Pakatan agreement signed on Jan 2.

There had also been overlapping claims with DAP in three seats - Kemena, Piasau and Senadin - but this has been resolved with PKR choosing not to field candidates there.

State PKR election director Dominique Ng said the reduction in seats meant that Pakatan would not field candidates in all 82 seats in the polls.

He said this was a change in strategy from previous elections as PKR needed to be more pragmatic due to its limited resources.

"In the past, we were trying to deny Barisan Nasional at that time any uncontested win. But now it seems that there are a lot of other parties.

"So, we decided to reduce our seats because we need to be realistic in our expectations and concentrate on the seats where we have a chance of winning," he said.

Meanwhile, Joshua also said PKR was not working with Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB) to prevent multi-cornered fights against the ruling Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) coalition.

"(There is) no deal with PSB. They are not in the Pakatan coalition," he said.

Ng added that there were some seats where PKR would be contesting against PSB, such as Batu Lintang.

The PKR candidates are:

1) Opar - Meneng Biris

2) Tupong - Ahmad Nazib Johari

3) Satok - Nor Dahlia Esapian Eyau

4) Batu Lintang - Cherishe Ng Phuay Hui

5) Asajaya - Mahmud Epah

6) Serembu - Michael Sawing

7) Tarat - Christo Michael

8) Tebedu - Senior William Rade

9) Sadong Jaya - Piee Ling

10) Lingga - Abang Abdul Kasim Abang Bujang

11) Beting Maro - Abang Zulkifli Abang Engkeh

12) Saribas - Patrick Kamis

13) Bukit Saban - Mikail Mathew Abdullah

14) Ngemah - Satu Anchom

15) Machan - M Fauzi @ Joseph Usit

16) Tellian - Mohd Arwin Abdullah

17) Balingian - Abdul Jalil Bujang

18) Kakus - Joshua Jabeng

19) Katibas - Munan Laja

20) Murum - Ani Amat

21) Bekenu - Norhafizah Johari

22) Lambir - Zolhaidah Suboh

23) Marudi - Elias Lipi

24) Telang Usan - Philip Jau Ding

25) Mulu - Roland Engan

26) Batu Danau - Racha Balang

27) Ba'Kelalan - Martin Samuel Labo

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Second urine test was negative, DAP assemblyman wants further investigation
Several areas in Ipoh hit by floods after heavy rain
Public should be free to choose how to pay tolls, says PM
It's up to the Johor MB to decide on snap polls, says PM
Finance Ministry or SC to sort out an official statement on Azam Baki share trading issue, says Wan Junaidi
King consents to setting up of RCI to investigate Tabung Haji issues, says Wan Junaidi
Accept SC’s decision on Azam Baki share trading issue, says PM
Chief Syariah judge files defamation suit against Lokman Adam
MACC Batu Pahat arrests man for allegedly falsifying documents to secure tender
Penang Smart Parking to resume normal operations by early Thursday (JAN 20) morning

Others Also Read