Govt, Opposition to sign MoU on Monday (Sept 13) on reforms

PETALING JAYA: The government and Pakatan Harapan leaders will sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on bipartisan cooperation on Monday (Sept 13).

Representatives from the government and Opposition have finalised an MoU between the Federal Government and Pakatan on proposed reforms.

All parties agreed that the MoU is to ensure political stability in the fight against Covid-19 and to save lives and livelihoods of the people.

In a joint statement Sunday (Sept 12), they said the signing will take place at the Parliament banquet hall at 5pm.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob and several other Opposition leaders will be present.

Among them are PKR president Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng, Amanah president Mohamad Sabu and Upko president Datuk Wilfred Madius Tangau.

"After holding several rounds of negotiations, representatives of the government and Pakatan today concluded an MoU between the Federal Government and Pakatan.

"All parties have agreed that this MoU is to restore the country's political stability in order to deal with the Covid-19 pandemic and restore the country's economy through bipartisan cooperation.

"With this MoU, focus and priority will be given by both sides to the new political landscape through transformation and reform initiatives on governance, in particular strengthening the role of parliamentary institutions," they said.

Both parties also agreed to fully disclose this MoU to the public as a commitment to transparency and accountability.

Government leaders who signed the statement were Home Minister Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin, Energy and Natural Resources Minister Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan, Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar, Multimedia and Communications Minister Tan Sri Annuar Musa and Finance Minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz.

The Opposition leaders were PKR secretary-general Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail, Amanah deputy president Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub, DAP national organising secretary Anthony Loke, DAP deputy chairman Gobind Singh Deo, PKR information chief Datuk Seri Shamsul Iskandar Mohd Akin and PKR communications director Fahmi Fadzil.

On Saturday (Sept 11), the Pakatan presidential council said it was inclined to accept the MoU offered by Ismail Sabri following a meeting between Opposition leaders and the Prime Minister on Aug 25.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Jobless man arrested for posing as cop in attempted robbery
Covid-19: 94.7% of Malaysia's adult population fully vaccinated
Melaka polls: Perikatan component parties to contest under a single banner, says Muhyiddin
Pandelela: I shared my ‘not so nice' experience to support other sexual harassment victims
Man feared drowned after jumping off bridge
Measures to prevent Covid-19 spike during Melaka polls among focus in Parliament on Tuesday (Oct 26)
MACC arrests GLC exec, two others for misuse of power
INTERACTIVE: Crouching Tigers, Hidden Cameras
Shafee gets passport back
Penangite wins international award for Covid-19 short film

Others Also Read