Fifteen DAP members nominate themselves for Perak party polls

  • Nation
  • Friday, 05 Mar 2021

Leow Thye Yih (left) Thomas Su (centre) and M.Kulasegaran (right) speaking on for the DAP State Commitee election namelist during the press conference at Ipoh Barat service centre in Buntong. — RONNIE CHIN/The Star

IPOH: Fifteen Perak DAP members have announced their intention to nominate themselves for the coming state party elections.

Kampar MP Thomas Su Keong Siong said it was time for Perak DAP to strengthen the party and have more seats in the upcoming general election.

“It is less than 10 days until the upcoming Perak DAP committee elections and considering the limited time, we have decided to announce our nominations.

“We hope that the grassroots and party leadership will support our candidates in order to strengthen the party position in the Perak government, ” he said at a press conference at the Ipoh Barat service centre in Buntong here Friday (March 5).

Also present at the press conference were former Human Resources minister and Ipoh Barat assemblyman M. Kulasegaran, Pokok Assam rep Leow Thye Yih and Pasir Pendamar assemblyman V. R. Terence Naidu who attended via video call.

Kulasegaran said it was time for “new blood” to lead the party’s new front.

“Last year, the coalition that headed the Perak government was shown the door through defections and betrayal.

“We have put forth our new formula to redraw our battle lines, ” he said.

He added that the party should consider more diverse candidates in the upcoming election.

“Take a look at how Barisan Nasional (Barisan) did during the Cameron Highlands election.

“The seat is usually occupied by an Indian or Malay candidate. But in 2019, an Orang Asli won. This shows that people are ready for changes, ” he said, adding that it was important to include young candidates.

In the Cameron Highlands 2019 by-election, Umno’s Ramli Mohd Nor won the polls over Pakatan Harapan’s M. Manogaran. He also became the first Orang Asli to be elected as MP.

In the 59-seat state assembly, DAP currently holds 16 seats after two of its assemblymen left the party in 2020.

The two assemblymen Paul Yong Choo Kiong (Tronoh) and A. Sivasubramaniam (Buntong) have since joined Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) as associate members, giving Bersatu a total of seven seats in the state assembly.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

SAR operation resumes for missing 11-year-old in Penang
Fire damages five houses in Butterworth
Covid-19 Watch: 1,894 new cases, nationwide ICU bed usage at 61pc
Tajuddin merely tooting own horn, says Puad
Rosmah tries again to challenge Sri Ram's appointment
No need to rush to the altar, say single women
Better preparation for old age, better well-being
INTERACTIVE: More women are delaying marriage. Here's why and why it matters.
Top Umno leaders signed SDs to back Anwar as PM, says Tajuddin
Nazri confirms ‘movement’ to oust Umno party president

Others Also Read