New Ipoh city councillors sworn-in Monday (May 4)

  • Nation
  • Monday, 04 May 2020

Mayor Datuk Rumaizi Bahrain during the Councillor’s oath taking ceremony.

IPOH: Seventeen new Ipoh city councillors, including the Datuk Bandar, took their oaths at the city council building Monday (May 4).

Newly-appointed mayor Datuk Rumaizi Baharin headed the first batch into the closed-door oath-taking ceremony.

The councillors have been appointed for a period of a year.

From the 16 (excluding the mayor), four are from Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu), four from PAS, and eight from Barisan Nasional.

The councillors include Ipoh City Watch president Prof Dr Richard Ng, local community group River Ranger Sungai Buntong coordinator S. Jayagopi (BN), and Syed Mohd Noor Hisam Syed Hassan (PAS).

The state Perikatan Nasional government, which comprises of Umno, Bersatu and PAS, was announced by Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu early March, following the political turmoil that began in late February.

Faizal tendered his resignation as the mentri besar on March 10, which ended Perak Pakatan Harapan’s 22-month-long state government.

After a few days, Faizal was reappointed as Perak Mentri Besar for a second time.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


39% readers found this article insightful

Next In Nation

MACC to investigate after PKR’s Sekijang MP lodges report over poaching allegations
Structural repairs on Penang Bridge to be shortened by a week
China to boost Asean ties, supports region in fight against Covid-19
Siblings aged seven, 14, injured, parents die in car-van collision
Covid-19: Sarawak records 201 new cases, two new clusters detected
Covid-19: Eight new clusters identified, five linked to workplaces
PKR’s Sekijang MP lodges report with MACC over poaching allegations
Ismail Sabri: 442 nabbed for Covid-19 SOP violations on Saturday (March 6)
Ismail Sabri: EMCO in Kg Tringgus in Bau, Sarawak from March 8-21
Dr M gives thumbs up after receiving Covid-19 vaccine

Stories You'll Enjoy