18 MPs from PAS, six from Umno want Dr M to be full-term PM

  • Nation
  • Thursday, 24 Oct 2019

KUALA LUMPUR (Bernama): All 18 PAS MPs and six of the Umno MPs have expressed support for Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad to remain prime minister for the full electoral term of five years.

Their expression of support comes in the wake of a report that PKR deputy president Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali wants Dr Mahathir to be given the mandate until the next general election, due in 2023.

"I want to state that if anything happens, as the PAS chief whip, (our) 18 votes are for Langkawi, ” said PAS secretary-general Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan (PAS-Kota Bharu) when speaking during the debate on the Supply Bill 2020 in the Dewan Rakyat today.

Dr Mahathir is the MP for Langkawi.

In the Parliament lobby, six UMNO MPs, namely Mohd Shahar Abdullah (Paya Besar), Datuk Dr Adham Baba (Tenggara), Datin Mastura Mohd Yazid (Kuala Kangsar), Datuk Abdul Rahman Mohamad (Lipis), Datuk Seri Ismail Abdul Muttalib (Maran), and Datuk Ahmad Nazlan Idris (Jerantut) - expressed similar support for the prime minister.

The six MPs said they want Dr Mahathir to remain prime minister to focus on the political and economic stability of the country.

"We do not want to see any problem due to the transition of power over these two years.

"It is something that does not make sense, ” Mohd Shahar said.

Mohamed Azmin told reporters two days ago that "desperate” parties calling for a change in the country’s top leadership were the ones trying to form a back-door government. – Bernama

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

YUJ’s role in helping community in line with Keluarga Malaysia concept, says Wan Junaidi
Claims of integrity pact not meeting international standards inaccurate, says MACC
Govt to consider lifting chicken export ban, says deputy minister
Xavier, Santhara join PBM
PKR's Pasir Gudang rep labels Umno's top five as oligarchs for pushing for elections
Investigation underway after tourists fall sick on Perhentian Kecil, says ministry
Health Ministry to improve incentives for blood donors, says KJ
Rural Development Ministry considering writing off RM230mil of Felcra settlers' debts
Cops deny issuing warning on kidnapping, organ sale
GE15: Gerakan Tanah Air plans to field at least 30% young candidates, says Dr M

Others Also Read