Shafie wins vote of confidence in Sabah assembly

  • Nation
  • Monday, 11 Jun 2018

Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal. -Bernamapic

KOTA KINABALU: Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal (pic) has won the vote of confidence with a two-thirds majority in the 64-member state assembly.

Assemblymen from Parti Warisan Sabah and its partners PKR, DAP and Upko gave 43 votes in support of Shafie, amid the absence of 21 elected representatives from Sabah Barisan Nasional and Sabah STAR.

The assemblymen from Sabah Barisan and STAR had earlier said that they would not attend the sitting, calling it “unlawful” and “hastily convened”.

Deputy Chief Minister Christina Liew tabled the motion of confidence towards the Chief Minister, and said that the special state Legislative Assembly sitting on Monday (June 11) was legal.
Liew said Shafie and the current state government were legal, according to the state constitution.

Among those who debated in favour of the motion were Paginatan assemblyman Datuk Abidin Madingkir, Luyang assemblyman Ginger Phoong, Kuamut assemblyman Datuk Masiung Banah, Kemabong assemblyman Datuk Jamawi Jaafar, and appointed assemblyman Loretto Padua.

The vote of confidence was passed at about 12.50pm on Monday.

This state legislative assembly sitting chaired by state speaker Datuk Syed Abas Syed Ali saw the swearing of oath of a total of 43 assemblymen, including Shafie, Deputy chief ministers Datuk Seri Madius Tangau, Liew, and Datuk Jaujan Sambakong.

Four out of six nominated assemblymen were also named during the sitting.

They are Madius, Stephen Wong, Terrence Siambun, and Loretto Padua.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across The Star Online