Negri Barisan names GE14 candidates, to field new faces for state seats

  • Nation
  • Monday, 23 Apr 2018

SEREMBAN: Sixteen Barisan Nasional candidates picked to contest the 36 state seats in Negri Sembilan in the May 9 polls are new faces. 

Leading the charge is Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan who will defend his Rantau seat which he has held for the past three terms.

Umno, which is contesting 22 seats, has named six new faces to contest the state seats.

They are Noor Azmi Yusof (Pertang), Baharuddin Jali (Klawang), Mustapha Nagoor (Palong), Mazalan Maarop (Lenggeng), Syamsul Amri ismail (Sikamat), and Saiful Yazan Sulaiman (Johol).

The party has also re-nominated former Pilah assemblyman Adnan Abu Hassan to contest in Senaling.

Former Pertang assemblyman Datuk Jalaluddin Alias will be contesting the Jelebu parliament seat this time around while former Senaling assemblyman Datuk Ismail lasim has been moved to Juasseh.

Eight of 10 MCA's candidates are also new faces.

State chairman Datuk Seri King Lim Chin Fui, who contested for the Chauh seat in 2013, will vie for the seat again while Siow Koi Voon, who last contested in the 2008 polls, will stand in Temiang.

MIC and Gerakan, which will be contesting two state seats each, will also have a new face each.

MIC has retained the incumbent for Jeram Padang Datuk L. Manickam while the Seri Tanjung seat will be contested by R.Thinalan.

State Gerakan chief Datuk David Choong will again vie for Seremban Jaya (formerly known as Senawang) while Bukit Kepayang will be contested by Mak Kah Keong.

As for the eight Parliament seats, Umno will contest five, MCA (two) and MIC (one).

Three of Umno's five incumbents have been retained.

They are Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin Abu Bakar (Rembau), Datuk Seri Hasan Malek (Kuala Pilah) and Datuk Seri Shaziman Abu Mansor (Tampin).

Former Jempol MP Tan Sri Mohd Isa Abdul Samad has been dropped.

Jelebu will have a new candidate in Jalaluddin following the death of its incumbent Datuk Zainuddin Ismail last December.

Both MCA candidates for the Seremban and Rasah parliament seats are also first timers.

They are MCA Youth chief Datuk Chong Sin Woon for Seremban and its legal bureau head Ng Kian Nam (Rasah).

MIC Information chief Datuk V.Mogan will again attempt to wrest Port Dickson which was formerly known as Telok Kemang.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across The Star Online