Najib: Free MRT, feeder bus rides until Jan 16

  • Nation
  • Thursday, 15 Dec 2016

SUNGAI BULOH: Public transport commuters will be able to enjoy free rides on the first phase of the Klang Valley MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) when it starts operations on Friday.

Announcing the good news, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said commuters will be able to ride on the MRT trains and feeder buses for free until Jan 16.

Fares will only be imposed starting from Jan 17, 2017.

From 6am Friday, the 12 MRT stations in the first phase of the project will begin operations.

The stations are Sg Buloh, Kampung Selamat, Kwasa Damansara, Kwasa Sentral, Kota Damansara, Surian, Mutiara Damansara, Bandar Utama, Taman Tun Dr Ismail, Phileo Damansara, Pusat Bandar Damansara and Semantan.

Some 120 feeder buses will also be deployed on 26 routes to service the 12 stations between Sungai Buloh and Semantan that make up the first phase of the MRT line.

For a start, 24 trains will ply the 21km route along the 12 stations from as early as 6am until midnight.

Each train comprises four carriages and measures 89m, which a capacity of 1,200 passengers.

Phase Two of the SBK Line is scheduled to be operational by July 2017 with 19 more stations between Semantan and Kajang.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across The Star Online