Idris leads Malacca awards list

Idris conferred 'DUNM' with the tiele 'Datuk Seri Utama'.

MALACCA: Malacca Chief Minister Datuk Seri Idris Haron leads 923 recipients of state awards and medals in conjunction with Malacca Governor Tun Mohd Khalil Yaakob’s 78th birthday this year.

State secretary Datuk Naim Abu Bakar said Idris is the sole recipient and the first Chief Minister to be conferred the Darjah Utama Negeri Melaka (DUNM) award which carries the title “Datuk Seri Utama”.

Sarawak Chief Minister Tan Sri Adenan Satem is among 11 recipients of Darjah Gemilang Seri Melaka (DGSM) which carries the title “Datuk Seri”.

Other recipients of DGSM are Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Dr Ali Hamsa, Attorney-General Tan Sri Mohamed Apandi Ali, Navy chief Admiral Tan Sri Ahmad Kamarulzaman Ahmad Badaruddin, Prof Emeritus Tan Sri Dr Lim Kok Wing, Jasin MP Datuk Ahmad Hamzah and Malacca executive councillor Datuk Abdul Ghafar Atan.

Deputy Health director-general (Medical) Datuk Dr S. Jeyaindran speaking to medical students at Universiti Malaya on March 5 2016.
Dr Jeyaindran awarded ‘DC SM’, which carries the title ‘Datuk Wira’.

Naim said Malaysian badminton ace Datuk Lee Chong Wei is among 20 recipients receiving the Darjah Cemerlang Seri Melaka (DCSM) award which carries the title “Datuk Wira”.

Other recipients include Deputy Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Datuk Dr Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah, Malacca executive councillor Datuk Ab Rahaman Ab Karim, Public Works Department director-general Datuk Seri Dr Roslan Md Taha, deputy director-general of health Prof Datuk Dr S. Jeyaindran, Bukit Aman Special Branch director Datuk Seri Mohamad Fuzi Harun and Malacca MCA adviser Datuk Gan Tian Loo.

Malacca police chief Deputy Comm Datuk Ramli Din is among 14 recipients awarded the Darjah Mulia Seri Melaka (DMSM) which carries the title “Datuk”.

Others include Malaysian ambassador to France Datuk Ibrahim Abdullah, Tangga Batu Umno division secretary Datuk Shamsudin Mehat and Chief Minister’s political secretary Rosli Hassan.

Another 122 people will be awarded the Darjah Pangkuan Seri Melaka (DPSM) which also carries the title “Datuk”.

Datuk Lee Chong Wei at Malaysia Purple Leagues press conference at Hilton PJ. AZMAN GHANI / The Star
Lee awarded ‘DC SM’, which carries the title ‘Datuk Wira’.

Among them are Malacca deputy police chief Senior Asst Comm Datuk Ruslan Hasan, Berita Harian executive editor Ahmad Zaini Kamaruzzaman and Utusan Melayu (M) Bhd editor Zulkefli Hamzah.

Naim added that 61 recipients will receive Darjah Seri Melaka (DSM), 74 the Bintang Cemerlang Melaka (BCM), 195 the Bintang Khidmat Terpuji (BKT), 208 the Pingat Jasa Kebaktian (PJK), 186 the Pingat Bakti Masyarakat (PBM) while 30 people will be given the Pingat Khidmat Lama (PKL).

He said there will be three investiture ceremonies – on Oct 15, Oct 16 and Nov 19.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

Covid-19: About 360 Top Glove employees taken by bus for treatment at hospitals after testing positive
Covid-19: Selangor Zakat Board confirms employee tested positive
GrabFood rider determined to do his job despite being involved in harrowing accident
Eateries, convenience stores in Sabah must still operate until 10pm for now, says Masidi
Local man, foreign woman arrested for allegedly dumping dead baby near mosque
Covid-19: M'sian virologist joins international commission probing coronavirus origins
Covid-19: Four new clusters identified, three come to an end, says Health DG
Cops hunting down snatch thieves following viral video
Six SMK Kuala Besut students win international award for short video
Covid-19: More than 1k cases linked to Teratai cluster, closure of factories will enable thorough screening, says Health DG

Stories You'll Enjoy