Perak honours six with posthumous awards

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 28 Nov 2015

KUALA KANGSAR: Six notable figures were honoured with posthumous awards during the investiture ceremony held in conjunction with Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah’s 59th birthday celebrations.

Among those honoured by the Perak Ruler were Umno founding president Datuk Onn Jaafar and murdered deputy public prosecutor Anthony Kevin Morais.

Onn was conferred the Darjah Seri Paduka Cura Si Manja Kini (SPCM), which carries the title Datuk Seri, while Kevin was bestowed the Darjah Dato Paduka Mahkota Perak (DPMP) award, which carries the title Datuk.

Onn’s grandson Datuk Seri Hishamuddin Hussein, who accepted the award, said it was a tribute that brought deep meaning and significance to the family.

“At the time of his death, many did not understand his struggles. To receive this tribute on his behalf at a time when the country’s political landscape is uncertain and filled with hatred is proof for me that my grandfather’s struggle is evergreen and still relevant.

“It is a reminder to myself not to mind the detractors. If I am consistent in my stance, then history will prove that what I am doing today is accurate and it will be accepted and appreciated by generations to come,” the Defence Minister said.

Honoured: Hishammuddin (left) receiving the award on behalf of his grandfather Datuk Onn Jaafar from Sultan Nazrin while Richard receives the award for Kevin at the investiture ceremony at the Balairong Seri of Istana Iskandariah in Kuala Kangsar.

He also urged Malaysians to stand united in confronting the tests faced by the nation.

“We need to revisit and emulate the struggles of those who had in the past sacrificed themselves in order for us to be able to live as an independent, free and dignified nation,” Hishammuddin said.

Datuk Richard Morais, who accepted the award for Kevin, thanked the Sultan and the state government for their gesture.

“Two weeks ago, they (the palace) had called me directly about the award,” said Richard, who is Kevin’s youngest brother.

The four others conferred posthumous awards were former Perak mentri besar Datuk Panglima Bukit Gantang Abdul Wahab Abdul Aziz, former nationalist leader and PAS president Dr Burhanuddin Al-Helmy, former educationist Aminuddin Baki and former Perak police chief Tan Sri Khoo Chong Kong.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site