Musa Hitam gets Tunship

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 03 Jun 2006

Musa: Former deputy prime minister

KUALA LUMPUR: Former Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Musa Hitam has been conferred the Seri Setia Mahkota (SSM) which carries the title Tun, the highest federal award, from Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Syed Putra Jamalullail in conjunction with the King's 63rd official birthday today.  

Musa, 72, who is also a former chairman of the Malaysian Human Rights Commission (Suhakam) sits on the board of several companies and is chairman of plantation group Kumpulan Guthrie and Lion Industries Corporation Bhd. 

Twenty people are awarded the Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM) which carries the title Tan Sri, 40 the Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN) and five the Panglima Setia DiRaja (PSD), both of which carry the title Datuk. 

A total of 1,905 people receive various awards and medals. 

The new Tan Sris include Director-General of Public Service Department Datuk Seri Ismail Adam, Director-General of the Implementation Coordination Unit in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Khalid Ramli, Treasury Secretary-General Datuk Seri Izzuddin Dali, Secretary-General of the Ministry of International Trade and Industry Datuk Mohd Sidek Hassan, Secretary-General of the Internal Security Ministry Datuk Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof; 

Health Ministry Director-General Datuk Dr Ismail Merican, Deputy Inspector-General of Police Datuk Seri Musa Hassan, Army Chief Jen Datuk Seri Abdul Aziz Zainal, Navy Chief Laksamana Datuk Ilyas Din, Air Force Chief Jen Datuk Seri Nik Ismail Nik Mohamed; 

Malaysia's Ambassador to Japan Datuk Marzuki Mohammad Noor, former International Islamic University, Malaysia, Rector Prof Dr Mohd Kamal Hassan, Kinsteel Bhd managing director Datuk Pheng Yin Huah, SP Setia Bhd chief executive officer Datuk Seri Liew Kee Sin, DRB-Hicom chairman Datuk Seri Syed Zainol Anwar Tuanku Syed Putra Jamalullail; 

Johan Holdings Bhd chairman and chief executive Datuk Tan Kay Hock, former Asian Cycling Confederation president Datuk Seri Darshan Singh Gill, politicians Datuk Wira Abdul Razak Alias and Datuk Lau Yin Pin, and AIMST chairman Datuk Dr Ampikaipakan S. Kandiah.  

Twenty people receive the Johan Mangku Negara (JMN), 72 the Johan Setia Mahkota (JSM), five the Johan Setia Di Raja (JSD), 333 the Kesatria Mangku Negara (KMN), 17 the Kesatria Setia Di Raja (KSD), 580 the Ahli Mangku Negara (AMN), 757 the Pingat Pangkuan Negara (PPN), 43 the Bentara Setia Di Raja (BSD) and three the Kepujian Perutusan Keberanian (KPK). 

Veteran singer Ahmad Jais, 70, an icon of the so-called “Pop Yeh Yeh” era of the 1960's is one of the recipients of the PJN, which bears the title Datuk. 

The others are Malaysia's Permanent Representative to the United Nations Datuk Hamidon Ali, High Commissioner to Britain Datuk Abdul Aziz Mohammed, High Court judges K.P. Gengadharan C.R. Nair, Linton Albert and Siti Mariah Ahmad; 

Director-General of Prison Datuk Mustafa Osman, Director-General of the National Security Division in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Abdul Hamid Othman, Secretary of Parliament Datuk Abdullah Abdul Wahab, Secretary-General of Tourism Ministry Datuk Dr Victor Wee Eng Lye, Secretary-General of the Federal Territories Ministry Datuk Dr Zulkarnian Awang; 

Datuk Bandar of Kuala Lumpur Datuk Ruslin Hasan, Petronas vice-presidents Dr Rosti Saruwono and Yeow Kian Chai, Ingress Corporation managing director Rameli Musa, and former Commercial Crime Department Director Datuk Hairuddin Mohamed. 

Among the politicians receiving the PJN are Barisan Nasional Executive Secretary Datuk Yaakob Mohammad, MCA life members Lo Kong Boon and Tan Kim Leong, Social Strategic Foundation Executive Director Dr Denison Jayasooria and People's Progressive Party vice-president S. Thulukanam. 

Istana Negara Grand Chamberlain Datuk Mohydin Che Jan and the King's personal physician Datuk Dr Vanamaly K. S. Menon are among five recipients of the PSD, which bears the title Datuk. 

Squash sensation Nicol Ann David, now ranked world No. 2 women's player after a brief spell as No. 1, is among the KMN recipients. 

Lee Chong Wei, the world's No. 2 ranked badminton player and national doubles pair Chan Chong Ming and Koo Kien Keat are among the AMN recipients. – Bernama  

  • King's Birthday Honours List 

    Related Story:Best wishes from Queen Elizabeth II 

  • Article type: metered
    User Type: anonymous web
    User Status:
    Campaign ID: 1
    Cxense type: free
    User access status: 3
    Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

    Next In Nation

    Samsung Galaxy Buds 2 Pro: Buds and beyond
    PWD takes swift action after sinkhole detected on Jalan Bagan Lalang in Butterworth
    Platform to tackle cyberbullying
    Hamzah: PM must consult Cabinet first
    Move to resolve illegal immigrant problem via digital data
    What Budget 2023 has to offer
    Navy needs better defence investment, says Reza
    Malaysia seeks 6th term in ICAO Council
    ‘Drawing is my passion’
    South Korea may set up cultural centre in Malaysia

    Others Also Read