EC revises several seat boundaries in Sarawak

  • Nation
  • Sunday, 24 Apr 2005

KUCHING: The Election Commission (EC) has proposed another new state seat and revised the boundaries of several parliamentary and state seats in Sarawak. 

The new seat is Kota Sentosa, which is derived from the Batu Kawah constituency.  

It would fall into the Stampin parliamentary seat, which would then comprise three state seats – Batu Lintang, Batu Kawah and Kota Sentosa. 

The revision was made following enquiries and petitions from groups and individuals following the commission's notification of a re-delineation exercise on Jan 17 this year. 

An official with the state Election Commission said the Kota Sentosa seat was proposed based on a petition received during the first display of the notification. 

Meanwhile, the boundaries of the Mas Gading, Santubong, Bandar Kuching, Stampin, Batang Sadong and Batang Lupar parliamentary seats had been revised from the previously proposed recommendations. 

Also revised were the boundaries of the state seats of Opar, Tasik Biru, Tanjong Datu, Pantai Damai, Tupong, Padungan, Batu Lintang, Batu Kawah, Sadong Jaya, Sebuyau, Pelagus and Katibas. 

The commission published a notice on the revisions on Friday. 

Copies of the revised recommendations are now available for public inspection. 

Any petition to the revised recommendations must be made to the Election Commission in Putrajaya within a month of the date of the publication of the notice. 

The earlier proposed recommendations included three new parliamentary (Igan, Sibuti and Limbang) and eight new state seats (Opar, Lingga, Balai Ringin, Bukit Saban, Daro, Bekenu, Pujut and Batu Danau).  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site