Khalil heads Sabah awards list

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 16 Sep 2003

KOTA KINABALU: Information Minister Tan Sri Khalil Yaakob heads the list of 574 recipients of state awards in conjunction with the 57th birthday celebration of Yang di-Pertua Negri Tun Ahmadshah Abdullah today. 

Khalil, together with businessman Datuk Mohammed @Kadir Mohamad Mastan, were the only two who were conferred the state’s highest award, Seri Panglima Darjah Kinabalu (SPDK), that carries the title Datuk Seri Panglima. 

Twenty-six others including Puteri Umno chief Azalina Othman Said and Sabah Umno Youth Chief Tawfiq Abu Bakar Titingan received the Panglima Gemilang Darjah Kinabalu (PGDK) which carries the title Datuk. 

Others who received the PGDK were Tempasuk assemblyman Musbah Jamli, Kunak assemblyman Jasa Rauddah, Sabah Sports Board general manager Herman Tiongsoh, Libaran Umno Wanita chief Armani Mahirruddin, Sabah Hakka Association chairman Tan Fook En, Liberal Democratic Party information chief Lau Yick Chiang and Sabah Umno executive secretary Kadzim Yahya. 

Among the other PGDK recipients were retired police officer Clement Jaikul, retired educationist Khamis Noyo, former Sabah Fire and Rescue Department director Leonard Athanasius, former senator R.M. Jasni, businessman Lim Kim Heng, Lim Hua Kai and Nancy Ho. 

Awang@ Mat Bashir Samat, Abdul Hadi Abdul Khatab, Abdul Wahab Sulaiman, Ahmad Mohamad Yassin @ M.Y. Ahmad, Awang Damit Awang Othman, Gabuh Paging, Shuhaibun Yusuff, Teo Ming Cung @ Chong Ming Chung, Andrew Lo Vun Bin and Nam Marthinin were among the other PGDK recipients. 

Seven who were awarded Justice of Peace were Parti Bersatu Sabah vice-president Yunof Maringking, John Maluda, A.P. Ghandi Dhas, Adnan Puteh, Mary @ Mariati Rovert, Tan Kim Beng and Vincent Shia Tee Yap @ Sheah Zwat Tsang. 

Twenty- six people received the Ahli Setia Darjah Kinabalu (ASDK). They included Datin Genevieve Kitingan, Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah secretary-general Ellron Angin, former Kemabong assemblyman Esar Andamas and Sabah Football Association secretary Harry Baking. 

Eighty-nine others were conferred the Ahli Darjah Kinabalu (ADK) and 143 the Bintang Setia Kinabalu (BSK), 96 the Bintang Kinabalu (BK) and 49 the Sijil Hormat (Certificate of Honour).  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Miti: Manufacturing sector in Klang Valley urged to join Operation Surge Capacity
Extend special Parliament sitting to allow MPs to discuss Emergency Ordinances, says Ku Li
Ku Li: Umno reps should inform lawmakers in private on decision to revoke Emergency Ordinances
Deputy Health DG: Majority of fully vaccinated infected frontliners show mild symptoms
King, Queen thank Saudi Arabia’s King Salman over medical contribution
Covid-19: Sabah govt allows companies, industries to buy vaccines for workers, says Masidi
Covid-19: Kampung Hulu, Kampung Kling mosques closed until Aug 4 for sanitisation
Covid-19: Shah Alam factory cluster largest among 47 new clusters
Health Ministry: Infectious disease prevention order differs from Emergency proclamation
Decomposed body found in ditch in Tanah Merah

Stories You'll Enjoy